Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2024, 12:04 AM   #1

Coupler latch question

I'm totally new to travel trailers and just picked up a 2018 r-pod 179. The guys had a hard time getting the 2" ball seated in the coupler when loading it for me to tow home. I inspected the coupler when I got home after unhooking and noticed there is very little movement between the coupler in the locked and unlocked position. Is this normal? On my other small trailer, the coupler moves down quite a bit when unlocked and up a bit when locked.
Taylor29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2024, 06:04 AM   #2

If your coupler looks like this it may need to be adjusted.
This image is from E-Trailer and I think there are instructions there.
Attached Images

Mokurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2024, 07:10 AM   #3

I really can't say about yours without seeing it ...........

Some can be adjusted some can not.

I own six trailers and all six are a little different as the hitches are different manufacturers. I will say the heavier trailers are harder to "seat" the ball as the trailers don't move.

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2024, 08:37 AM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oaklevel View Post
I really can't say about yours without seeing it ...........

Some can be adjusted some can not.

I own six trailers and all six are a little different as the hitches are different manufacturers. I will say the heavier trailers are harder to "seat" the ball as the trailers don't move.

X2
Some can, some cannot and there were some threads on here a few years ago where the ball socket (with a non-adjustable latch) was formed too small and made hitching a chore.

Without us seeing it, we can only give guesses.