Old 08-04-2020, 11:00 PM   #1

Donít Twist the Safety Chains

I see people twist their safety chains all the time when it is detrimental to the strength of the chains. I am reminded of this whenever I rent a trailer from Uhaul because the Uhaul staff always wants to twist the safety chain to prevent the chain from dragging on the ground.

I just found a great article that explains why the safety chains should not be twisted. As a Professional Engineer I really appreciate this article.
https://mechanicalelements.com/twisting-safety-chains/

Enjoy
wszApex245 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 11:21 PM   #2

There is also this YouTube video that shows how to cross the chains and how to shorten them safely
Old 08-05-2020, 03:58 AM   #3

Sorry I disagree and go with u-haul on their trailers.

A camper maybe not but on a small utility trailer twisting safety chains is not a big deal and fine. The trailers uhaul has builts are overkill on everything. Their safety shains are probably rated to hold a trailer of twice their capacity.

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2017 Wildwood Lodge 4092 BFL
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxer Mix
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2020, 06:01 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by wszApex245 View Post
I see people twist their safety chains all the time when it is detrimental to the strength of the chains. I am reminded of this whenever I rent a trailer from Uhaul because the Uhaul staff always wants to twist the safety chain to prevent the chain from dragging on the ground.

I just found a great article that explains why the safety chains should not be twisted. As a Professional Engineer I really appreciate this article.
https://mechanicalelements.com/twisting-safety-chains/

Enjoy
Good information. Thanks!
Old 08-05-2020, 06:32 AM   #5