Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2021, 04:06 PM   #1

Empty Tongue weight seems low

Hello,
I'm new to travel trailers and to this form, but very excited!

My wife and I bought a Wildwood 19dbxl that we picked up and drove about 30 miles home, mostly on i-75. The trip scared me a bit. The back of the truck seemed really bouncy and there was some definite sway.

My setup is:
2018 F150 2.7 ecoboost
19DBXL TT with a dry weight of 4200 lbs (sticker on frame)
Blue Ox Swaypro with 1000lb bars.

I tried a bunch of different arrangements on the swaypro and got it a little better by running the trailer a bit nose down, but it was never great. right now the ball sits about 1" lower than the trailer height and I use link 10.

I went to a CAT scale and got the following:
Truck & Trailer with Weight Distribution. All tanks empty. 2 full propane bottles, 1 battery and maybe 1-150lbs gear inside. Mostly in the front bay.
Steer Axle: 2900
Drive axle: 2620
Trailer axle: 4200

Truck Only:
Drive Axle: 2220

This is making me think most of my problem is because there isn't enough weight on the tongue? Dry tongue weight is suppose to be 520lb (by the manufacturing specs) Should I be worried that the actual tongue weight seems so low?

I was also wondering if the swaypro bars were too stiff and causing problems.

I appreciate any pointers or advice. Thanks!
Scott
SadieMae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2021, 04:20 PM   #2
Always Learning

Given the numbers that you posted, I can't determine the actual tongue weight. The problem is that the weight distribution hitch is moving that tongue weight around.

You really need to take a weight without the WDH bars engaged to get an accurate picture of the tongue weight.

For TTs, you generally want to do 3 weights:
1, truck + trailer w/ WDH hitch engaged
2, truck + trailer w/o WDH hitch engaged (just coupler on ball)
3, truck only