Old 08-15-2017, 03:55 PM   #1

Grand Cherokee Jeep Towing Wolf Pup?

Hello all,

I'm really new to this whole RV'ing experience. I never did it growing up but with a young child, the wife and I are looking to branch into this area of adventure. We are about a year or more away from getting started but will be renting a couple trailers to see what works for us. Currently, we are interested in the 18TO Wolf Pup which has a GVWR of 5,000 and a dry weight of almost 3,800. The hitch weight it 437 lbs. The trailer is 22 feet.

I am thinking of buying a more recent Grand Cherokee Jeep to tow which shows a max towing of 6,200. Is this feasible? Would only be my wife, myself, and our young one. I wouldn't expect much in terms of loading.

I've seen things like GVCWR and axel weight rating and I've googled but been unable to find those specifications and so forth. Thanks in advance.
mboyd182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 04:23 PM   #2

First of all, welcome to the forums!

I have no personal experience at all with the Grand Cherokee as a tow vehicle, but I have heard good things about them, as long as the tow rating is not exceeded. The newer Grand Cherokees offer either the 3.6 V6 Pentastar or the 5.7 V8 Hemi. Since you're referencing a 6,200 pound tow rating, I'm assuming you're looking at the 3.6 V6. Either way, I do think that properly configured, the Grand Cherokee will be a perfectly adequate tow vehicle for a Wolf Pup 18TO, with a properly set up weight distribution hitch and sway control.