Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2013, 11:02 AM   #1

Hitch/Sway Control advice

Picking up my new '14 Lacrosse 318BHS tomorrow!

I have a '13 Ram 2500 Diesel. The dealer recommended getting an equalizing hitch and sway control, but I have zero experience with them. Can anyone shed light on an equalizer hitch and sway control for me? Maybe a recommendation, one that doesn't break the bank? I'm a complete newbie to TTs.
rbowles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2013, 11:46 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

Welcome to the forum. Here's a short primer and then some recommendations.

First of all, the common term "equalizing hitch" actually refers to what is best called weight distribution hitch.

So, what is a weight distribution hitch?

From RVbasics.com...
A weight distribution hitch consist of two parts. The first part being the receiver hitch that is mounted to the frame of the tow vehicle. The receiver hitch has two weight ratings, one is weight carrying and one is with weight distribution. Weight carrying is the weight that the hitch can safely tow with a standard ball mount and ball. The weight distribution rating is the weight that can be towed with the addition of a weight distribution package.

The weight distribution package pins in your receiver hitch and then two spring bars are attached to the camper and the receiver hitch. There are several manufacturers and methods used but all have the same simple principal. To distribute the weight evenly throughout the tow vehicle and the towed vehicle. Be sure to consult with and RV professional regarding the installation and operation of the proper weight distribution package as well as any other hitch accessory.
So, basically you are using a WDH to get from this the first illustration to the second illustration......

----------------------------------------------------------------------

What hitch to buy?