Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-19-2021, 11:21 PM   #1

I am really new to the RV and have a question about towing E-Pro 19FBS with Highlander

I am going to get my very first Rv, E-Pro 19FBS 2021. My towing vehicle is Toyota Highlander 2021 platinum with towing capacity of 5000lbs. I did a bit of research and learned that the dry weight is useless and the vehicle can’t really tow at the maximum towing capacity. The yellow sticker near the door jam showed that “ the weight shouldn’t be exceeded 1225 lbs”. E pro 19FBS have UVW at 3290lbs and CCC at 1084lbs. My hitch capacity is at 5000lbs and TW at 500lbs. With my weak English skill, i really concerned that will my vehicle be able to tow this RV? I tried to understand and read a lot of forums but still didnt get it.
got156 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 03:48 AM   #2

The combination you have will work out. I would install a brake controller in the Highlander and use a Anderson weight distribution hitch.

You can tow 5,000 Lbs
Trailer weight 3290 + 1084 max cargo = 4384 Lbs

There is nothing wrong with this combination, well within the operating limits.

The reason for the selection of the Anderson hitch is the weight of only 51lbs. along with the simplicity of use and outstanding anti sway performance.

The 1225lb figure is the maximum weight you can add to the Highlander. this includes passengers, cargo, tong weight of the trailer (reasonably loaded trailer the tong weight should be under 500lbs)

If you are new to towing, start out slowly, stay in the right lane 60/65 is OK.

Good Luck and have a good time.

2016 Vengeance 29V Sold
FrankG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2021, 03:54 AM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankG View Post
The combination you have will work out. I would install a brake controller in the Highlander and use a Anderson weight distribution hitch.

You can tow 5,000 Lbs