Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-25-2022, 05:16 PM   #1

Leave trailer hooked up overnight?

Hi
Im very new to rv ing ! Can I leave the 25 foot Minilite hooked up to my Chevy Suburban overnight? I have early departure in the am.
Thanks!
Sconnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2022, 05:20 PM   #2

Should be fine. I have been told to perhaps unplug the electrical connection. (As long as you don't forget to plug it back in). Evidently some trucks used to (might) allow the trailer to drain the battery. Depends on how the truck sends dc power.
Old 05-25-2022, 05:39 PM   #3
Site Team

I’d guess about 80-90% of members who have responded to this question in the past have said it’s OK to remain hooked up. I have many times. A few people have recommended to unhook to make it easier to bolt to a hospital or to move away from a burning trailer.

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 68; Booked for 2022 = 41
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2022, 05:53 PM   #4

We used to do it all the time when we had a trailer. You should try to be fairly level so that you don't end up walking uphill in the trailer. Then we always unhooked the electric from the truck and chocked the wheels. I know, you shouldn't have to chock the wheels, but we weren't comfortable relying on the truck's brakes holding both vehicles in place. Then just reverse everything in the am.
Old 05-25-2022, 06:33 PM   #5

Thank you!
Old 05-25-2022, 06:55 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by fipntdot View Post
Should be fine. I have been told to perhaps unplug the electrical connection. (As long as you don't forget to plug it back in). Evidently some trucks used to (might) allow the trailer to drain the battery. Depends on how the truck sends dc power.