Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-31-2020, 08:15 AM   #1

My “Real Gas” Experiment

Ever since purchasing my truck in 2015, I have always wondered what kind of a MPG difference using non-ethanol fuel would make. I have never been in a position to be able to do this until last weekend.

My tank was as close to empty as it could get and I was sweating it getting to a nearby gas station that I have never used before, and it just happened that they had some pumps with non-ethanol, 89% octane gasoline. It cost 30 cents per gallon more than the 10% ethanol, 87% octane regular gasoline that I normally use, but that didn’t matter to me this time. I filled-up with over 34 gallons.

I had a 150-mile drive (not towing) ahead of me on a route I take regularly, mostly on I-95 through Maryland and Virginia. I always, always make this trip at 14.6 to 15.4MPG. My average speed for this trip almost always clocks-in at 60MPH from door to door.

I can’t say that I noticed any difference in performance using the non-ethanol gas, but there may have been some — I just don’t know — but the big difference I did notice was, I got 19.4MPG on this trip. I made the entire trip in exactly 2-1/2 hours, which was right on par with my average speed for this trip — there is very little secondary road travel (about 30 miles) and almost all interstate travel.

I haven’t yet done the math to see if the difference in price was worth it, but I thought I would share this much for people who wonder what the difference of using the non-ethanol gas does for MPG. I was impressed.

Bruce
Old 12-31-2020, 08:35 AM   #2