Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-04-2020, 08:00 AM   #1

Never say never AGAIN

I'm a retired Teamster truck driver. I drove all sizes of diesel trucks for 40 years. The last 5 years before I retired in 2016, EVERY diesel truck the company purchased, from the 1 tons up had continuing regen problems. When we bought our 1st TT, because I said we would never have a 5th wheel, I realized pretty quick our plush riding 1/2 ton really wasn't up to towing a 34 foot long 11 foot tall wind sail efficiently and comfortably. I decided I would get a more capable truck, BUT it would never be a long wheel base or a dually and certainly not a diesel. Bought a Ram 2500 with the 6.4 hemi gas engine and all was good towing our 34 ft plus TT averaging 8-10 mpg. I was pretty pleased with my decision knowing I wouldn't have to deal with any regen, DEF or fuel filters or other diesel issues, plus I saved $9100 of the cost for the diesel engine knowing it would take well over 100k miles in the small fuel savings to ever justify the added expense. After a couple of trips out west and driving through some real mountains, I did miss the torque of a diesel engine pulling at much lower rpm's than my hemi that would sometimes pull at 4800 loud rpms for a mile or more at a time (even knowing that was where the engine made it's power.) I was still pretty happy with my choice because I was never going to get a bigger trailer and NEVER a 5th wheel. Well here we sit in our campsite on beautiful Lake Ouachita looking for a new 5th wheel for my new 2020 1 ton Ram Cummins diesel LWB dually to travel the country with. I have relearned two things. Never say "never" and you CAN teach an old dog new tricks. If you see some guy on the road pulling a 5th wheel with a LWB diesel dually with egg on his face that will probably be me especially if he's wearing a big grin from all that low rpm power produced by