Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-19-2024, 08:29 AM   #1

New Dummy; need WDH advice

Could use some guidance I have many years experience pulling trailer, goose neck, to bumper pull. I purchase a 2010 Roo 19ft and purchased a Ram 2500 to pull it. I would like to use a weight distribution system for it, looking at a equilizer. Pricey but, I found one that is about 1/3 the price of a new one, its only a 6000 lbs, is this large enough for my set up up do I need a larger one. Can't hook to truck yet, need a 2.5 in shank, I only have 2 in laying around. Any and all help is appreciated, Thank you.
DDH56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2024, 09:26 AM   #2

We had an Equal-i-zer 10,000 LB and it worked great with our 2022 Tundra Limited and Flagstaff 22FBS. I'll admit I went with the 10K just for some 'cush'. Here's a link from Equal-i-zer to figure what they recommend:

https://www.equalizerhitch.com/blog/...odel-do-i-need
Wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2024, 09:58 AM   #3

On a 2500, with a 19", do you really need WD?

I could see where you might want sway control but ...
Old 05-19-2024, 10:22 AM   #4

Roo 19 can weigh 6000 pounds which will put 600 to 900 pounds on the ball so I'm inclined to think a WDH may not be needed with this large pickup truck. How does it pull now? Any sway? Any light steering from that weight on the ball?

For handling sway control I'd think a 6000 pound Equalizer (tm) will be fine.

Easy enough to slide a 2.5" to 2" adapter in there. It's just filler.

-- Chuck
Old 05-19-2024, 10:30 AM   #5
Guitar G

Fastway e-2