Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-10-2021, 03:18 PM   #1

Roo 21SS coupler issue

Hi all, newbie here with a new 21SS.

Unfortunately I didn't get to see the trailer being hooked up to the truck on delivery day (I was backing the truck ), so my first experience was when we got home. After removing the WDH bars and lowering the trailer back down, I could NOT get the coupler to release (lift and slide back the latch, right?). Only after a few gentle taps with a rubber mallet would it release. Same for re-hooking as part of practicing - had to use the mallet to get the latch to close.

Suggestions? I greased the latch, but do I smother the ball in grease?

Thanks for any and all suggestions - I'm sure this will not be my first newbie post!
Glenn Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 03:40 PM   #2

You may need to ease your TV forward to release any pressure. The ball should 'lean' against the front of the coupler rather than the back.
Old 06-10-2021, 04:44 PM   #3

Agreed. The tow vehicle needs to be moved forward.
NavyLCDR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:09 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Underthedog View Post
You may need to ease your TV forward to release any pressure. The ball should 'lean' against the front of the coupler rather than the back.
x3!
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2021, 05:37 PM   #5

The coupler will decouple better in tension -- with some forward pressure from the truck. Just the opposite when coupling. The coupler should have to reach for the ball -- the trailer will slide very slightly forward or the truck back. Talking a 1/4 inch here. Note where the coupler was when it uncoupled in tension.

-- Chuck
Old 06-11-2021, 07:09 AM   #6