Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-06-2019, 01:35 PM   #1

Soliciting Feedback on Hitch Weight / Loading Strategy

Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to truck and travel trailer ownership. In the past, we had a couple small trailers (Chalet, Trailmanor) that we towed with a Dodge Durango SUV. We recently purchased a 2019 Ram 1500 Laramie 4X4 and 2019 Flagstaff MicroLite 25FBLS, and I think it's not as ideal a setup as I had envisioned.

The truck is pretty heavily optioned which seriously limits it's load capacity, which is only 1278 lbs. It does have the 3.92 axle ratio and actually seems to have plenty of power to pull the trailer. (Not good gas mileage though!)

When I was researching trailers we decided on the 25FBLS due in part to uts hitch weight as compared to others. It empty weight (UVW) is 5364 lbs, which is well below the truck's tow capacity of 9900 lbs after factoring the options it came with (11,340 lbs otherwise.) The trailer's claimed hitch weight is 711 lbs.

I purchased a Sherline hitch scale and made some measurements with the trailer loaded and just back from a camping trip, as follows:
- Loaded / ready to camp (800 lbs)
- Loaded but empty storage bay (750 lbs)
** My weight (210 lbs) on the rear bumper reduced tongue weight 100 lbs.

Obviously, the 800 lbs on the hitch only leaves me with 478 lbs that I can put in the truck, including passengers and gear in the truck bed. My wife and I (and 30 lb dog, Frodo) generally travel pretty light, but we're likely at the limit of the truck's weight capacity or even a bit over! I don't know the loaded weight of the trailer, but I doubt if it's over 6000 lbs, so we're well within the tow capacity of the truck.