Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-15-2013, 10:33 PM   #1

Standard vs. Automatic

I am sure this thread will start some debate. I am looking up upgrading my truck. So here are the facts. 36' 5th wheel, 15,000lbs, the truck is going to be a 1 ton or better. I like my Chevy but the Ford and Dodge also look interesting. It will be a diesel and the box will be turned into what I call a western hauler box.

Having said all this I am wondering if I should stick with a standard or auto. I drive truck for a living so banging gears does not bother me at all. Input from others out there would be nice..!

2006 F350 6.0 with 3.73 gears, 4X4, Extra-Cab Long Box, Oil/Tranny/P.S. Coolers. Coolant filter. SCT Livewire.
2011 Cedar Creek 36RE, Auto levelers + too much to list..!
puff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 10:40 PM   #2

I would go standard for sure, especially if you are used to shifting anyway.
Less to go wrong, better gas mileage, and you decide what gear to run in, not some stupid computer!
bakken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 03:21 AM   #3
Denver, CO

I donno. I thought my 99 f350 with the 6 sp manual was awesome until I got the 2007 Chevy with the Allison auto. Can't imagine going back.
Old 07-16-2013, 04:13 AM   #4
Just a member

Quote:
Originally Posted by puff View Post
Having said all this I am wondering if I should stick with a standard or auto. I drive truck for a living so banging gears does not bother me at all. Input from others out there would be nice..!
Ford and the General no longer offer a stick'n clutch in their light duty pickups (2500, 3500, Super Duty etc) - Chrysler is the hold-out but that offering is not mated to their high output combo.

kandl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 10:07 AM   #5
daydreaming about camping

Quote: