Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-15-2016, 12:17 PM   #1

Supplemental Braking Options and wiring

As a new Forester RV I am currently investigating all the hardware options necessary for towing out 2011 Subaru Impreza. Along the way I have figured out that i'm going to do a a Blue OX baseplate and have a method for working the tail lights, brakes and turn signals. Now I've got to figure out which tow bar to use and the supplemental braking systems. Also would like to know if my 3011DS is pre-wired for supplemental braking. If any has any recommendations they would surely be appreciated.

RVr
newRVer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:48 PM   #2

Supplemental Braking Options and wiring

I have a roadmaster tow bar and brake buddy system in the classifieds if interested.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?t=101818

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?t=101817

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...d.php?t=101794
2014 Evo 2850 "Woodstock"
2011 Toyota Tundra "Clifford"

Just glad to get away
HONDAMAN174 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 01:08 PM   #3

You will find that we all have different preferences as to equipment. That being said, the two biggest, Blue Ox and Roadmaster both have quality bars and equipment.
We tow a 2013 Subaru Crosstrek behind a Lexington 283ts. I have a Blue Ox base plate, Roadmaster Sterling tow bar, and an RVI2 Brake system.
All work properly, and I've had no problems in two years and almost 12,000 miles.
I did the base plate install myself...not hard if your a do it yourselfer and fimilar with auto's.