Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Closed Thread

Old 11-05-2019, 08:10 AM   #1

To delete or not

I am fairly new to the diesel truck circuit and have a question about deleting my emissions and if anybody else is running that way. I have a 2012 F250 6.7 L and from the research I’ve done it seems it’s very beneficial to delete emissions and get rid of the filters in the tailpipe and use a straight tail pipe instead. Of course I understand this is only for off-road use. Just wondering if anybody else Is running their diesels this way and towing a trailer how it affects it, the good and the bad.
jjcooler65 is offline   Reply
Old 11-05-2019, 10:57 AM   #2
Broken Toe

I have 2 diesels. My 2002 Ford 7.3 is modified to the point that its probably near triple the stock HP. The other is a 2017 Ram that is stock as the day it came off the factory.

Having gone both ways, I will say that I will leave the Ram stock. My reasoning is the Ford is more like a thoroughbred horse now instead of a plow horse. Its touchy, and somewhat temperamental. It's sensitive to fuel quality, it makes more heat than I can really shed (needs a way bigger inter-cooler). It's a fun rocket ship of a ride when empty, but a bit PITA when hauling. Keeping one eye on the EGTs at all times, putting up with the noise (its amazing how a noise that's cool on a short trip can become a mind-dulling drone on long one), and making sure I keep a spare fuel filter, cam sensor, and Injection Pressure Regulator on hand at all times take the shine off it it. I usually arrive at a campground wrung out from the drive.

Whereas in the Ram. I just set the cruise control and let her gobble up the miles. No worries about EGT's at all. No drama. Just a relaxing drive.