Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-13-2021, 12:38 PM   #1

Trucks to tow....dear lord!

I am a newb. I bought a 2018 Cherokee Grey Wolf model 26DJSE and when I truck shop, I feel lost and confused! The truck sale people are trying to sell me big trucks. The RV dealer said a Ford 150 could do the job. I am totally new, please help me! What truck do I need? In basic terms because I feel the acronyms are Greek, lol! I don't understand towing capacity versus GWVR and etc.... Thank you for any pearls of wisdom!
mlbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 12:54 PM   #2

Looking at that model online, it appears in t has a GVWR of about 7574lbs.

In my opinion, that's right on the border between needing a 1/2 and 3/4 ton truck. Some of the newer 1/2 tons will probably do it if they're properly equipped. However, if you think there's a chance you may want to go larger at some point I'd go with the bigger truck to begin with. Typically, the price difference is nominal.
007matman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2021, 12:55 PM   #3

Your 2 foot longer than my Camper and slightly lighter. I have no trouble towing it with my F150. My truck does have a bit more payload capacity then many 1/2 tons and that's your key number to look for. This camper is the "forever camper" for us (3rd one we've used) so no worries we might want bigger for the 2 of us.
Old 05-13-2021, 12:55 PM   #4

I need a truck!

Bought a 2018 Cherokee Grey Wolf. 28'.....RV salesman said a standard f150 would be fine. Truck dealer is saying no and I need a much larger and much more $$ truck. I am a lost lady here. Can a standard F15 or similar do the job? Or do I need a special truck? Thank you for any advice!
Old 05-13-2021, 12:57 PM   #5
RV There Yet?

Tow Capacity is the maximum your vehicle can tow with essentially 0lbs tongue weight (think 4 wheel hay wagon). mostly a fictional number.