Old 09-26-2020, 07:09 PM   #1

Turning Point PinBox and Curt Q20

Total newbie to 5th wheel towing so hereís the first of many newbie questions...
The dealer handed me a lube disc and said it was my choice to install it or not...seeing as I know nothing about it I donít know whether I like the idea or not. Iím concerned about the small gap the disc would create (1/8 inch?) especially around the wedge...
To grease or to go with the nylon disc, that is the question.
And if grease, what is the appropriate grease for hitch plate?
5thwheelinfireman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2020, 07:17 PM   #2

If you are using the wedge, it locks into the truck hitch, so there is no turning there. So no need for a teflon disc or grease.
You should grease the sides of the wedge and perhaps the leading edge of the kingpin plate for easier hitching. I use dry lube so there is no mess.
Reese Fifth Airborne air ride king pin coupler with Sidewinder
NMWildcat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2020, 05:08 AM   #3

Thanks NMWildcat. Any particular brand of dry lube you prefer?
Old 09-27-2020, 06:26 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5thwheelinfireman View Post
Thanks NMWildcat. Any particular brand of dry lube you prefer?
I really don't have a preference, but I tend to find this one most everywhere; https://www.wd40.com/products/dry-lube/. I also use it on the slide out mechanisms.
And sometimes I use a silicone spray on the hitch surfaces.
Be sure and look up the maintenance on your Turning Point. I take my Sidewinder apart every 12-18 months to clean and regrease all the bearing surfaces with Lucas Red-N-Tacky.
Old 09-27-2020, 06:48 PM   #5
Paul & Dianne