Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-13-2011, 03:18 PM   #1

Weight Distribution

These are the facts: My truck GVWR 9800 lbs
Front GAWR 5000
Rear GAWR 6100

Actual truck with full tank and 2 people Front 4620
Rear 3160

These were the weights on our last trip with full tank, gear loaded on truck and 3 people Front 4280
Rear 5280
Trailer 8120

The GWR on TT is 10,900. You probably aren't surprised that the rear of the truck was bouncing while driving. I have an Equalizer WDH and had it setup by a technician(?). With my setup the truck looks level and my trailer is tilted only slightly in the front. Do you think that the hitch should be able to shift more weight to the front truck axle or do I just have too much weight on the truck?

I would appreciate your suggestions.

Jorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2011, 03:42 PM   #2
Dismember

I am no expert and you certainly have a meatier truck than I do, but I am surprised that it still looks level in the loaded configuration. You pulled 360 pounds off of the front axle and added 2000 to the rear axle. Is your rear 4 inches high in the unloaded configuration?

Off of the cuff I would think you would want to transfer more weight to the front axle. My recommendation is to measure your truck fender to ground clearance for the unloaded truck, then measure the fender to ground clearance for the hitched (but unequalized) load. Then adjust the equalizer until you restore half of the unloaded tilt. In other words, if the unloaded/unhitched fender clearance is 3 inches higher on the rear axle than it is on the front axle, and the loaded/hitched/undistributed clearance is 1 inch higher on the front axle than on the rear axle, I would adjust the tension on the equalizer until the rear clearance was 1 inch higher than the front.