RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×

Old 07-27-2018, 06:42 AM   #1

What am I missing?

Everytime a thread starts up alluding to a 1/2 ton truck towing a heavy trailer one comment always seems to pop up..... yeah but can you stop it? My trailer weighs in at between 7300 and 7500lbs loaded. My truck weighs about 5500lbs. I have had my Tekonsha P3 set up improperly and had to panic stop and my anti lock brakes kicked in. It stopped. I have been on the interstate and realized I did not fully connect my camper connection and rolled into a rest stop. It stopped. My truck is rated to tow 9800lbs but there is a limit to what even I would try

An F250 weighs in at about 6500lbs and they haul much heavier campers. If those trailer brakes didn't work they would also have a tough time stopping those campers. Now, I'm no engineer but it seems to me that it is ONLY the weight of the truck on those rubber patches in contact with the ground and how much the camper weighs that factor into this equation. A one ton difference between a camper and an F150 and a 2 ton difference between a camper and an F250 both mean you better have properly adjusted trailer brakes or you will be pushed a bit. As I said, I am no engineer so I am fully open to explanations.

Not looking for an argument. I have only been at this camper towing game for about 2 years and am truly curious because it is a recurring theme.

Marty
Old 07-27-2018, 07:17 AM   #2