Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-25-2019, 03:17 PM   #61

This is my first time towing with the EcoBoost and I'm excited about it. Our former TV was a Toyota Sequoia with a 5.7 and sometimes it would be screaming as we went over a highway overpass!

Our trip is 1500 miles each way. Sequoia got 7.5 mpg. With an average size tank we were starting to look for gas every 2 hours! The F150 should be in the 9.5 - 10.5 mpg range. And with the 36 gallon tank, we expect to stop once on the road and again at the end of the day.
45RPM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 06:08 PM   #62

I knew that but someone said it was just like a Diesel. So I thought it would be better to get an actual driven test rather than looking at a curve to see what the dynamometer test results indicated. The factory specs actually show the peak a bit below 3k. Since I have been building engines all my life I am pretty much up on what is happening. Just never heard from anyone before that had tested one over the mountain passes making that claim.
That engine has several things that Diesels use to go along with boost. But the only way I can figure out to get that low RPM torque is with a long stroke. That hasn’t worked well with that faster burning fuel.
aircommuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2019, 06:10 PM   #63

Quote:
Originally Posted by 45RPM View Post
This is my first time towing with the EcoBoost and I'm excited about it. Our former TV was a Toyota Sequoia with a 5.7 and sometimes it would be screaming as we went over a highway overpass!

Our trip is 1500 miles each way. Sequoia got 7.5 mpg. With an average size tank we were starting to look for gas every 2 hours! The F150 should be in the 9.5 - 10.5 mpg range. And with the 36 gallon tank, we expect to stop once on the road and again at the end of the day.
Definitely better with the boost on that engine.