Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-12-2021, 11:26 AM   #1

Why do trailers become detached while driving?

Hi All,

I have a 2017 Rockwood Roo towed by a 2021 Silverado 1500 3.0L. I am somewhat new to towing trailers. Took the trailer camping this weekend and everything went great. We have a WDH that came with it and it seems to be in good shape. I am somewhat paranoid about the trailer uncoupling while driving. Its never happened to me before, but it has me wondering what circumstances tend to provoke a trailer detachment, aside from having an accident or rollover? Is it a defective hitch or large bumps? I am trying to figure out the physics of a scenario that might cause it to become unhitched, hoping to avoid it, obviously. I obviously use both safety chains already, but I don't ever want to have to put them to the test. I tried googling the answer but all I get are law firms advertising their services.

Thanks in advance!
Aonyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2021, 11:36 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aonyx View Post
Hi All,

I have a 2017 Rockwood Roo towed by a 2021 Silverado 1500 3.0L. I am somewhat new to towing trailers. Took the trailer camping this weekend and everything went great. We have a WDH that came with it and it seems to be in good shape. I am somewhat paranoid about the trailer uncoupling while driving. Its never happened to me before, but it has me wondering what circumstances tend to provoke a trailer detachment, aside from having an accident or rollover? Is it a defective hitch or large bumps? I am trying to figure out the physics of a scenario that might cause it to become unhitched, hoping to avoid it, obviously. I obviously use both safety chains already, but I don't ever want to have to put them to the test. I tried googling the answer but all I get are law firms advertising their services.

Thanks in advance!