Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-11-2020, 07:27 PM   #41

Hang on to it and run it into the ground! It’s a solid, strong truck with relatively low miles. It’s going to cost you 20 -25k to get into a newer truck with the same miles, or 45-60k to get into a new truck with same power. Use it until you can’t reliably. I have a 2000 Chevy 3/4 ton with 160k that’s giving me concerns, and have been battling same thoughts.

Now, on the other hand… If your wife is encouraging you to buy a new truck…
Montanaclan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 07:35 PM   #42

I’m new to the camping scene. Found a 2004 Ram 1500 with only 125,000 miles on it that fit my budget. My mechanic gave it a thumbs up. So far, so good. Yea, more gears would be nice, but I’ve learned how to ‘drive’ it when towing. I love all that high tech gear, but just don’t want to take on the payments.
Old 06-11-2020, 07:46 PM   #43

I tow with a 2001 F250 with a 7.3L diesel. 111,000 original miles by me, the original owner. Unless someone offers me a ridiculous amount of money for my truck I have no plans to update and wouldn't hesitate to drive cross country again. It pulls may 5er easily and with no white knuckle feeling here in the Rockies.
Mtelkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 08:32 PM   #44

Your mileage isn't very high. I like the older trucks because the newer diesels with their emissions, regen processes and def are bad news. I have a 2006 dodge ram 3500 so diesel. It only has 82k on it and only has a catalytic converter. None of the other crop and we love it.
dallasrules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 08:49 PM   #45