Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-05-2022, 09:04 AM   #1
TRoth

Chicago

I live in Iowa, I am heading to southern Michigan to pick up our new 5th wheel. This is my first time pulling a 5th wheel. I know the traffic on I-80 and I-90 on the south end of Chicago can be rough and lots of construction. Has anyone taken Hwy 30 which is a little south of chicago to bypass Chicago. Thanks in advance.
TRoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 09:40 AM   #2
Site Team

Moved thread from the General Community Discussion section to the On the Road/Travel Chat section's Central USA sub-forum.

Sent from my SM-G781U using Forest River Forums mobile app
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 12:55 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRoth View Post
I live in Iowa, I am heading to southern Michigan to pick up our new 5th wheel. This is my first time pulling a 5th wheel. I know the traffic on I-80 and I-90 on the south end of Chicago can be rough and lots of construction. Has anyone taken Hwy 30 which is a little south of chicago to bypass Chicago. Thanks in advance.
Lots of stop and go on 30. If you have the time and it makes you feel better you can go that way.
latner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2022, 01:24 PM   #4

I would not pull a 5er on US 30 at all. A lot and stop and go traffic plus you need to travel thru some extremely dense cities such as Joliet IL. There is also a lot of road construction on I80 around Joliet right now, sometimes down to one lane.

If you can I would drop down to I74 and use this to travel to Iowa. I know this might add a couple of hours to your trip, but it might be easier pull for you.
Old 10-05-2022, 01:52 PM   #5