Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-16-2017, 12:36 PM   #1

4000 Onan gen. Will not run

Got ready to go on first short trip of season and generator would not run. Got it to start with no problem, however, it will only run for about 20 seconds and shuts down. The fault code is 3/6 which I believe is fuel not a computer problem. I did not run it a lot over winter but did have Stabil and Seafoam in gas tank. I have tried spraying carb cleaner in and starting fluid to try to clean out carb ( difficult to do in the small space in 317ODS) When it starts it sounds great. I am not a mechanic and dreding taking it to Camping World for service. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
OKpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 12:48 PM   #2

check the little things first are you over a 1/4 full on gas does the fuel pump run when you push the stop/primer switch is the altitude adjustment setting in the right position. had a friend with same problem a few weeks ago and i took the cover off and switched the breaker off it took 3 or 4 tries running 20 seconds or so before it stayed running switched breaker back on and it was good to go. also check oil level
lbrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 04:15 PM   #3

Did try everything you mention, except breaker switch. I did flip it on and off one time to make sure it was on but I will try it a few more times. Thanks
Old 06-17-2017, 04:26 PM   #4

I would contact Onan and take it to them, They normally have the parts in stock and can sometimes get you out i a day. There are some dealers that can only change oil and filters on them not perform service work.
Old 06-17-2017, 04:39 PM   #5