Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-09-2022, 04:59 PM   #1

Alarm Issue

I am a newbie to RV world. We have a 2017 Sunseeker 2300. When on our maiden voyage an alarm that sounded like a fire or smoke alarm went off. The first time is sounded for about 10 seconds and then went off. The next day it sounded for about a minute and then went off. We were connected to shore power. We were not using the stove or air conditioner at the time. Any ideas as to what the alarm was? How do I turn it off? How do I prevent it from going off?
ephraim613 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2022, 05:12 PM   #2

I just (this week) had to have my Carbon Monoxide/LP Gas alarm replaced because it kept going off. It didn't stop as soon as yours and the only way to stop it was cut power then turn back on and it would reset. Mine had a light on it to indicate it was having an alarm.

There may also be a smoke alarm go off. There may be some others as well.
Old 07-09-2022, 07:33 PM   #3

It depends on which alarm is going off.
If it's the smoke alarm on the ceiling, try replacing the 9v battery.
If it's the propane alarm which is a 'drive you out of the rig' alarm, check your house batteries. If they are low, the alarm will go off randomly (the voice of experience). Also, cleaning products, hair spray, gas from a dog , or sewer gas will set them off. Was your water heater operating on gas?
If it's the CO detector which is part of the propane detector, something like dust can set them off.
If there's no leak, no low batteries, or other cause, you might need to replace the propane detector.
Old 07-10-2022, 12:14 AM   #4