Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-15-2022, 12:52 AM   #1

Auto levelling jacks for Sunseeker 2350LE?

Hi, forum newbie here (obviously). Also RV newbie. Never owned one before, but we just ordered a 2350LE. We were torn on the auto levelling jacks option. The dealer actually advised against it. He said for a larger RV it made more sense, but for something this small it wasn't needed.

Thoughts? If we don't have that feature, do we have other good options for levelling at camp? I don't mind 5 minutes of work. I assumed some sort of manual jack would be an option, but the dealer sounded confused and said I wouldn't even really do that, I'd just park the vehicle on the flattest ground I could find and take whatever I get. I said "couldn't I at least drive up on some plastic wedges or something?" To which he responded "well yeah you could do that." Not trying to paint this guy as clueless, it's possible something was lost in communication. But I'm curious what the hive mind advises. I'm sure I could amend the order tomorrow if I decide we really want that option.

Thanks!
The111 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2022, 06:12 AM   #2

Leveling a travel trailer is a simple process. Leveling a motor home is not. Definitely ignore the sales rep who appears to have a college degree with a major in stupidity.

A lot of us don’t use auto leveling but prefer manual leveling. Chances of finding a perfectly level campsite are slim…very slim. Even if you find one you need to stabilize the MH or you are going to be pretty uncomfortable because of all the bouncing without some sort of way to shore up the rig. With built in levelers it takes about 30 seconds to extend the jacks about one inch or less…enough to eliminate the bounce.
Old 05-15-2022, 07:57 AM   #3
Kanadian Kamper

We had a Georgetown for 10 years, equipped with hydraulic jacks.