Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-08-2017, 06:51 PM   #1

can i manually check the gray water tank?

Like many others i am convinced my gauges are off as well. I am trying the fabric softener idea and then going to use the tanks as suggested in other posts. I bought this unit used and so need to trace things down myself. I am also new to rving.

The gray water shows 3/4 full but when I drained it nothing came out so the gauges are apparently off.

I am going to use it on a brief trip. Assuming the gauges are off, when can I tell the tank is full if I can't rely on the gauge. I can manually check the black tank by looking down the toilet. But how about the gray water tank?

One day someone will figure all this out!

Thanks folks, Pops
popshumphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 07:10 PM   #2

You are right, the gauges are not very precise at all. Having said that, the gray tank still showing 3/4 full when it's empty is odd, it should return to empty or close to empty within an hour or so. If not, try filling it up with clear water a few times and then flush, repeat if necessary. What do you rinse down the drain can possibly settle in the tank, stuff like grease, cooking oil and coffee ground could do this in a very short time.
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2017, 07:25 PM   #3

Showing 3/4 full (actually, usually 2/3 full) is not unusual at all. I'd suggest you start the Geo Method (https://sites.google.com/site/cbruni/), which is the softener you speak of. That will hopefully, eventually, clean the tank. In the meantime, you'll know when the grey is full when it backs up into your shower. After you've Geo'd the tank a couple times, you might want to travel with it 1/2 full once and let the sloshing help clean the sensors.

2016 Mini Lite 2503S - tt (2015 - ???)
2011 Traverse LT, 3.6L, FWD