RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2017, 08:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 75
Generator and Shore Power

Lots of times I am running the Generator when I arrive at my campsite. I may be running A/C or whatever. My question is can I plug in shore power and then cut generator off. Can I do this in that order and not cause any problems with running A/C or whatever. Also can I do the reverse, start Generator while plugged into shore power?
izzaboomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:17 AM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 12,237
Generally yes, but a little more information is needed . What RV do you own? Does it have a transfer switch?
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:36 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 14,305
I would hope a Sunseeker with a Fac Installed Gen would have a Transfer Switch! Whole house Gen systems have a Transfer Switch and they Auto-Switch From Full City Power that "Drops" to Gen Power without any On/Off action from Homeowner! Youroo!!
__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:36 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,098
genny

Do a seach on "gen auto" on the forum, look for the thread started 04/03/13. I had the same question....
__________________
Hoglou the DH (1231 and done!)
BK the DW (retired and happy)
WestGA KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Check out the "mods" in the albums
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:42 AM   #5
...far N Georgia!
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Hiawassee, GA!
Posts: 3,195
funny you asked this question just now...

I would answer that 'yes', it's no problem since you generator is normally the 'primary' power even when you are on shore power, and therefore will not create any issues since your transfer switch is designed to transfer power from one source to another... and,

I was just watching a video from Entegra Coach, with a young host named PJ, who provides information for new coach owners. One topic was the transfer switch, the generator, and shore power. He states that in situations where you only have 30a shore power, and the shore power plug has no 30a breaker of it own, it is PREFERABLE to have the generator ON when plugging in.
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 09:51 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 75
I don't understand that. Why even be plugged in if you are going to run the generator?
izzaboomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 10:12 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoglou View Post
Do a seach on "gen auto" on the forum, look for the thread started 04/03/13. I had the same question....
I believe this thread is for auto switching when shore power is lost but it does illustrate that switching from one power source to another with loads (AC etc.) turned on when switching is not a big deal. It's possible that arching of the OP.s transfer switch contacts will occur and perhaps over time may cause issues with conductivity across them but maybe not. I personally have not encountered any issues doing what the OP is asking about. Of course this is predicated upon all systems functioning normally. If in doubt, turn it off first.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 10:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by izzaboomer View Post
I don't understand that. Why even be plugged in if you are going to run the generator?
It's not running gen when plugged in, it's switching from one source to the other with loads applied. Arriving at a full hookup campsite with the genny running is quite common due to needing AC for the passengers aft of the cockpit. Sitting in line in July waiting to get into Fort Wilderness etc.. Wanting to switch over to genny when leaving campsite and having uninterrupted AC and many other reasons.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 12:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 75
So the answer is SURE.
izzaboomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2017, 01:38 PM   #10
Member
 
RudysWorld's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Collierville, TN
Posts: 581
Not sure about Sunseeker or what year you have, but my 2011 Georgetown does not have a transfer switch. I have to physically unplug shore power cord from the generator outlet and plug into the pedestal at the campground. In my case I always turn A/C and generator off before going from generator to shore power or the opposite way. In talking with Onan generator representative it is not recommended to do this also. I know everyone will then bring up the auto transfer switches and that is exactly what they do transfer the load immediately. He said this is for convenience but not good for the generator. Good Luck!
__________________

Rudy - 10 year old long haired dachshund, RIP
2011 Georgetown 350TS
2013 Chevrolet Equinox toad
RudysWorld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.