RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-15-2016, 12:03 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
GPS Problem 2014 Sunseeker

Things have been fine the past 2 years. First trip this year and the factory GPS will not work. All other items on the display will work (radio, iPod etc), but when I click GPS... nothing. Any ideas?

I have reset the system, rebooted the system etc.

I am on across country trip, would be nice to have.

Thanks
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 05:53 AM   #2
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,644
Just to clarify, when you say it does not work.. Does it come on the screen and just not find a signal? Or does it not even show on the display?

If it's the first one then try finding the antenna and make sure nothing ate the wire between the head unit and the antena. Also if it is on the dash, make sure it is not covered.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2016, 12:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
The screen shows all icons including GPS. When pressing GPS nothing happens. I will confirm nothing is blocking the signal. Thanks
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2016, 07:48 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 143
Check the antenna connection, or the antenna may have gone bad
13larry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2016, 11:30 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
You may have a dodgy memory card. I had mine replace twice after storing it for a couple of months, the GPS did not go through it start up sequence. Contact Magna dye they will know from the number on the memorycard whether this is the problem.
flying_dutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2016, 09:22 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
Thank you. We'll give this a try
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2016, 09:00 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
Thanks Dutchman. Magnadyne is sending me a new card. There are no files on the card and they said it erased itself. Not sure how, but OK. Should have a new card in a few days.
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2016, 09:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
New sd card arrived yesterday and GPS works great.

Pleased Magnadyne came through as promised.
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 07:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Eagle Wisconsin
Posts: 237
Glad you got yours to work. The unit in my 2914 3010 works but takes me to the wrong location. Did it twice on this 4 week road trip. Got me to a dead end road, had to unhook toad and use a guys drive to get back on the right road. Started using my iPhone along with the Meg, and that was all that I will use now. Try your smart phone and you meg and see what will happen.
rekwiat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2016, 07:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
DocsDad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 230
We definitely like the RV Parky app that we defaulted to and it worked well for our cross country trip a couple weeks ago. Nice to have an on board system though. It's always nice to see the upcoming roads when my wife is navigating with the other app.
__________________
2016 Forest River Sunseeker 3100SS
DocsDad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 09:28 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Just got a Sunseeker 2450S and I am trying to figure out the Magadyne system. What little I can figure it has GPS but it doesn't activate. Any clues. BTW....Absolutely NO paperwork came with the vehicle.
Pasha26287 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2016, 10:41 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Eagle Wisconsin
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pasha26287 View Post
Just got a Sunseeker 2450S and I am trying to figure out the Magadyne system. What little I can figure it has GPS but it doesn't activate. Any clues. BTW....Absolutely NO paperwork came with the vehicle.

Google magadyne and download the manual.
rekwiat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2016, 04:15 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
You may also have a dodgy sd-card. Phone Magnadyne and find out. One of the signs is that it does not go through the start - up procedure. Basically it hangs.
flying_dutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2016, 09:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,433
I have a Magnadyne and all I can say is, buy a Garmin, stick it to the windshield and be happy. IMHO.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3170 DSF
Dorothy, Garrette and Miss Bella.
Retired and having fun.
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2016, 04:55 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Wisconsin/Florida
Posts: 1,619
While we are on the Magnadyne subject, I have a question. Does the radio need to be on for the GPS to give voice directions?
PenJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2016, 04:40 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenJoe View Post
While we are on the Magnadyne subject, I have a question. Does the radio need to be on for the GPS to give voice directions?
There is no need to have the radio on.
When you switch on the radio will always work but what I do is switch on BT (blue tooth) Radio will be off and then you can switch to GPS or when it is already running push the button on left above the screen to switch to the GPS. In set up you can adjust the volume and also arrange that the volume increases when you drive faster (more noise) If you want to switch off I always use the remote control because the gps does not need to go through the full start up procedure but starts immediately.
I hope this solves your problem.
flying_dutchman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, sunseeker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 AM.