Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-07-2019, 10:51 AM   #1
Senior Gold Member

Heat pump vs electric heater

As a retired Power Engineer I could likely compute the efficiencies and heat calculations and figure this out myself but I also know that we operate our toys under less than scientific conditions.

So here is the question: Is the RV AC/Heat pump more efficient than an electric heater which is for the most part 100% efficient? And under what conditions does it work best because it does use electricity as well.
Old 05-07-2019, 10:56 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason

Short answer... no.

The heat pump uses as much or more electricity to produce less heat.
You are running a compressor and a fan to produce that heat which is then affected by efficiency/inefficiency of ambient outside temps on the system.

Days Camped '19=118 '20=116 '21=123 '22=134 '23=118 '24=90
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 11:05 AM   #3

The advantage is that the heat pump circulates the air better, in my case anyway.

2016 F350 CC Dually Powerstroke 4x4
2014 Cedar Creek 34RLSA w/Level Up
2007 HD Ultra Classic 103
USS Pyro AE-24 WestPac MM2 '71-'75
SlowrideHD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2019, 11:09 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5picker View Post
Short answer... no.

The heat pump uses as much or more electricity to produce less heat.
You are running a compressor and a fan to produce that heat which is then affected by efficiency/inefficiency of ambient outside temps on the system.
Actually, a heat pump (without electric heat strip) does not "produce" heat, it merely moves it from outside air to inside. An AC unit in reverse.

If one is using a heat pump in ambient temps above 40 degrees they are pretty efficient as it takes less electricity to move the neat (energy) than it does to produce it with resistance heat units.