Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-01-2015, 04:46 PM   #1

Internet Mods in my Forester

I've posted a few times today that we have a big 3,000 mile trip coming up in a week. So, we've been modifying things for the trip.

I run internet websites for a living (I'm friends with the guy that owns this one) and need very good very reliable internet access. So, I pulled out the big guns for this coach.

First, I installed a WiFi Ranger Elite Wifi antenna/booster on my RV's roof. Then I installed a 12" by 18" sheet metal ground plane on the roof to accommodate my Wilson Cell Phone Antenna.

I ran the wires down through the hole in the roof for the TV Antenna. They then tucked nicely and fully hidden between the roof and the padded ceiling > into a cabinet > under the cabinet floor and out to the end of the upper cabinet above the sofa.

There I mounted our Wilson 3G/4G cell phone booster and the WiFi Ranger's neat Go2 wireless router. Everything runs on 12v, too.

The WiFi Ranger can pick up wifi signals up to 2 miles away and it boosts weak RV Campground signals that can hardly pass through most RV's walls. The Wilson Sleek 4G boosts Cell signals about 18 db (which is quite a bunch). But we don't use it for our phones so much - we use it to boost our Cellular MiFi Broadband Cards. We have two Mifi Aircards - a Verizon mifi and an ATT aircard.

The Wifi Ranger looks for free open Wifi networks and automatically signs on to them. Then you enter the local logins for the campground you're in and finally it connects via USB to your Aircard. Then the Wifi Ranger prioritizes all this and connects you seamlessly to the strongest and least costly internet.