Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2020, 04:25 PM   #1

Leveling, Slides, And Awning on a 2019 Forester 2861ds

Hi everyone, I am brand new to this forum. I have a question about my 2019 Forester 2861DS. I have to set the emergency brake and have the key or running) on to level and put the slides out. I can understand this but I also have to have the key on to put the awning in or out. Shouldn't the awning work without turning the ignition switch on in the camper? If I go to awning on the control panel and try to open or close it it says it is off line until I turn the key on. Is there a reason for this? I will be open to any logical explanation. Thanks, Tim
P.S- I might be slow reading any answers as I'm brand new to this sight and just learning how to use it.
sonofabeacher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2020, 04:33 PM   #2
Certified Curmudgeon

Safety Locks

Sounds like something is messed up.
Levelers : Engine running in Park, Emergency brake on.
Slides: House Battery On, Been a while so I dont remember if Engine can be running or not.
Awning: House Battery On, Key out of ignition.

Happy Glamping & Be Safe
Old 07-25-2020, 04:43 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply. I can understand leveling and slides but not the awning. I wonder if there is a way to by pass the emergency brake switch. I just need to know if it is normally open or normally closed when the brake is on.
Old 07-25-2020, 05:06 PM   #4
Certified Curmudgeon

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonofa.beacher View Post
Thanks for the reply. I can understand leveling and slides but not the awning. I wonder if there is a way to by pass the emergency brake switch. I just need to know if it is normally open or normally closed when the brake is on.
I would recommend that you not bypass the safety lockout. It is there to protect
you.
Old 07-25-2020, 05:17 PM   #5