RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2016, 10:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
LinandLen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 347
Question Lippert myRV® Tablet Questions!

Okay, I'm totally confused about this Tablet added to the new motor homes. I was looking at the 3011DS that includes this OneTouch Tablet. How in the world can you operate the motor home's systems if you are in the middle of nowhere with no wifi available? Is there an option to override this system and operate the slides, lights, oven, pumps, etc. manually. If not, how would you ever be able to take your motor home to areas without wifi? I don't get it.
LinandLen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 11:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,355
I may be wrong but I thought it's Bluetooth.
Can't you download an app to your phone and operate systems via Bluetooth?
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
2011 Jeep JK Toad
Habitual RV Modifier
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 11:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,355
Duplicate post
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
2011 Jeep JK Toad
Habitual RV Modifier
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:54 AM   #4
I go RV'ing not Camping
 
jgourlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lethbridge, Ab, Canada
Posts: 1,486
My lippert tablet in my trailer is run off wifi from a router that is built into the trailer. Essentially my trailer has it's own wifi. It doesn't connect to the internet though
__________________
312QBUD Owners Thread
2015 Wildwood Heritage Glen 312QBUD
2000 Chev 2500 Extended Cab 6 Liter
1400lbs Equal-i-zer Hitch
jgourlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 07:46 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,355
That makes sense. . I have a router with my own network name and password in my rig. You do not need Internet to connect to it
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
2011 Jeep JK Toad
Habitual RV Modifier
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:10 AM   #6
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,518
As mentioned above, it has a hub that is powered by the batteries, and that creates it's own Wi-Fi network, but isn't connected to the internet.

There also should be manual switches for each device so that if some part of the network fails (i.e. receiver, remote, hub, etc.), you can still operate the devices.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:10 AM   #7
Class C Representative
 
Joshua Cavitt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: In a van down by the river
Posts: 610
There is a Wi-Fi router built into the motorhome. You do not need an outside Wi-Fi source to run this system.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Profile comments or Private Message, my inbox fills up too quickly. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only (VIN, Contact info or things you do not want the public to see).
Joshua Cavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:19 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,355
Very nice. I like the whole idea and the lippert my rv system. .
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
2011 Jeep JK Toad
Habitual RV Modifier
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 08:48 AM   #9
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 2,171
Here is a link to the video explaining the system:

__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 09:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
sgtlm17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,355
I love techy stuff wish I could add that as a mod. That is a great upgrade on the new units.
__________________
2016 Forester GTS 2801QSF
2011 Jeep JK Toad
Habitual RV Modifier
sgtlm17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 11:30 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Tombsy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 562
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgtlm17 View Post
I love techy stuff wish I could add that as a mod. That is a great upgrade on the new units.

I looked at it as well , pretty nice, but I assume it would be a total rewire to get the new panel for the system installed in our rigs. You'd think there would have to be some sort of standardized wiring to install it. Still curious as to what would be involved.
__________________
Brian
2015 Forester 2801QS GTS
TOAD-Hobie Mirage Pro Angler 14 kayak and Yamaha Zuma 50cc scooter on a custom trailer.
Tombsy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 12:16 PM   #12
Head Rambler
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Southwest Alabama
Posts: 8,518
If you have a switch panel with all the device switches that you'd want to control in it, you could retrofit a receiver and remote in the unit pretty easily.
__________________
Salem 29RKSS Pushing a GMC Sierra 2500HD!
Gotta go campin!
Bama Rambler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:01 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 264
Boy, I'd love to say I love it....but as it is right now, I can't stand it!!!! It only works about 1/2 the time (at best) if it weren't for the app on my phone we'd be stuck!!! The app on the phone works every single time, never had a hiccup, but....


We bought the RV with the My RV in it - we kind of expect it to work and it hasn't since the day we bought it. They installed the app on my phone and told us there would be a software update coming out for the My RV (we bought it in mid August) but so far we've rec'd nothing?


If I'm out fishing and my phone goes in the water, we're going to be stuck somewhere with a slide out and stabilizers down...


So, we'd love to be impressed, but we're not :0(
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:04 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
LinandLen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBogey View Post
Boy, I'd love to say I love it....but as it is right now, I can't stand it!!!! It only works about 1/2 the time (at best) if it weren't for the app on my phone we'd be stuck!!! The app on the phone works every single time, never had a hiccup, but....


We bought the RV with the My RV in it - we kind of expect it to work and it hasn't since the day we bought it. They installed the app on my phone and told us there would be a software update coming out for the My RV (we bought it in mid August) but so far we've rec'd nothing?


If I'm out fishing and my phone goes in the water, we're going to be stuck somewhere with a slide out and stabilizers down...


So, we'd love to be impressed, but we're not :0(
So there is NO WAY to override the myRV system?!! There are no manual switches for the slide outs or any of the systems?? That's not good.
LinandLen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:16 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 264
That's what had me freaking out when we first found out we were going to be getting this touch screen thing instead of good old rocker switches!

Dinette lights, bathroom light and entertainment lights have switches. Slide, stabilizer, most lights, generator, water pump, water heater, etc, all on MyRV....
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 10:56 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
LinandLen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by BBogey View Post
That's what had me freaking out when we first found out we were going to be getting this touch screen thing instead of good old rocker switches!

Dinette lights, bathroom light and entertainment lights have switches. Slide, stabilizer, most lights, generator, water pump, water heater, etc, all on MyRV....
I'm all for electronics and software, but that seems really crazy that there's no backup or an override system in case of an emergency. What if someone doesn't own a smartphone or as you mentioned something happened to your phone or it was lost or stolen?? What then?
LinandLen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 07:58 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
KayleysMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Groton, New York
Posts: 150
I'm with Camperroo, this is crazy. Now I'm freaking out also. We just ordered a new unit and we do not have a smart phone. Based on replies earlier in this thread and reports I've read elsewhere, I thought everything had the good old rocker switches for backup, but now I hear from BBogey this is not the case.

How do you operate your slides, water heater, awning, generator, etc. if MyRV is not working and you do not have a phone?

Joshua, can you help?

Thanks.
__________________
2017 Forester 2861DS
Chevy Chassis
KayleysMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 08:29 AM   #18
Cutty
 
bbcutright's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Southeast
Posts: 84
I find mine quite useless! it loses connection if you walk to far away from the router and wont connect unless you walk back to the side where there are no slide outs...I just get a family member to stand out there and I push the buttons. its just a useless toy in my TT.
bbcutright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 08:58 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: PNW
Posts: 264
My smart phone is saving us right now, but I don't want to rely on that, nor should we have to... I'm really surprised there hasn't been some kind of software update yet - it more than likely would fix the bugs?
__________________
2017 MBS 2401W
BBogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2016, 09:02 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
KayleysMom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Groton, New York
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbcutright View Post
I find mine quite useless! it loses connection if you walk to far away from the router and wont connect unless you walk back to the side where there are no slide outs...I just get a family member to stand out there and I push the buttons. its just a useless toy in my TT.
bbcutright: do you have manual buttons for your slides, awning, and generator in addition to the tablet?
__________________
2017 Forester 2861DS
Chevy Chassis
KayleysMom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 PM.