Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-09-2020, 09:20 PM   #1

Location of Generator Transfer Switch

I have a 2015 Forester 3051S, Gasoline Class C with full slide. The Air-conditioning (AC) will not work with generator supplying power. The AC will work on Shore power. From my research the Automatic Transfer switch (generator transfer switch) it is likely the issue and Forest River Tech help agrees. According to the drawing and information they gave me, the switch is supposed to be under the bed. I pulled the plywood off today to check and there is no switch. There are 2 electrical junction boxes, but no switch. OK I am an IT and Telecoms Engineer so I know the difference between a junction box and a switch .

From my experience RV builders will change location and equipment on models and not necessarily document drawings. I have replied to FR Tech Help and told them it isn't there and provided photos.

Any suggestions where it might be?

Thank you!
drowe30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 09:34 PM   #2

In my 2012 the ATS is not much bigger than a junction box. The presence of the large black 30 amp cable gives it away. Mine is under the bed. You might need to remove some panels to follow the power cable.
Falconman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 10:23 PM   #3

I appreciate you taking time to reply. I pulled the covers off both junction boxes and there are just wiring with wire nuts in both, no switching equipment. One cable set goes to the Inverter and the other goes under the bed to the undercarriage without any access panels.
Old 06-09-2020, 11:42 PM   #4
2012 Solera