Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2020, 10:33 PM   #1

Maxxair Maxxfan Deluxe Wiring Question

Installing a Maxxair Maxxfan Deluxe in place of useless vent in 2017 Forester 2401R. I pulled down the wiring to find 3 black 3 white wire each tied together. Since I am a mere novice electrician, I was hoping someone have suggestions for the connection. Should I connect the 2 wires from the fan to each of the respective 3 wire bundles, or do I need to break out a single black and white wire for the connection....

Picture of the wires attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9663154E-794F-4FBC-A6B7-177E0080377E.jpg
Views:	200
Size:	230.4 KB
ID:	235150  
davidstrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2020, 07:56 AM   #2

this is just a guess. do not take it for gospel.

did you already remove the existing vent? including disconnecting the vent wires? of is the vent still there and are the vent wires still connected?

i would guess that the new fan wires would connect to the same places that the existing vent got its power from.
Old 07-30-2020, 08:03 AM   #3

As already said above, if your vent already has a fan, I’m going to guess that one of those black wires and one of those white wires goes to the existing fan. Disconnect the old fan from those two wires and connect the new fan to the same two wires.

If your old vent did not have a fan, then you can either add the new wires to the groups of three, so you have four blacks and four whites connected together, or you can tap into one of the blacks and one of the whites and tie in your new fan wires. All that matters is than in the end, there is a connection between all whites, and between all blacks, and no loose wires hanging.
Old 07-30-2020, 08:11 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHICKDOE View Post
this is just a guess. do not take it for gospel.