Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2020, 08:02 AM   #1

Questions re 2016 Sunseeker 3010DS

Complete newby here so please be patient. Just bought the RV from a widow that had no knowledge of systems so trying to learn from the manuals included, which is proving to be a challenge, so have a few questions:

There is a small box with a digital display mounted on the side of the bed which apparently is a remote for an electrical management system - where is the main box located and what does it do, and what is the remote box telling me?

Brochures were included for an Automatic Transfer Switch (PD5100) and a Power Control Center (PD4500) - what are their functions and where are they located?

We really hope to do a lot of camping without being plugged in, but need electrical for TV's, satellite and CPAP, but hate having to run the generator. I think that a relatively small inverter would be a great addition - how big a deal is such an install and pros and cons and suggestions as to how to go about it?

Thanks for any helpful feedback,

Bob
PilotBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2020, 08:33 AM   #2
Kanadian Kamper

Does this small box on the side of your bed look like my photos?
The main box is located just as the power cord enters the motorhome.
This is my remote display from my power management and surge protection unit hardwired in my motorhome.

It’s an aftermarket install.

As far as an inverter.....I’ll leave that to others. The more toys you want, the bigger and $$$$ the inverter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	82BA254D-79BC-42E6-97D6-5D55B32985A7.jpeg
Views:	79
Size:	80.0 KB
ID:	229763   Click image for larger version

Name:	D783D8A6-3A92-415B-9549-BFC8D3E32110.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	251.4 KB
ID:	229764  

Ken and Terry
2018 Sunseeker 2430S-CD, nicely modified and carried by a 2017 Ford E450 Sport