Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-25-2019, 09:37 PM   #1

Question Recommendation for replacing split mattress

Hello,
We are purchasing a used sunseeker in just a couple days. I am new to anything and everything RV related. The unit had a queen bed slide and I am wanting to replace the mattress. When the slide is in, the mattress is “folded”. I am curious and nervous as to how to buy a mattress for this. When I look online mattresses that say they are for rvs don’t becessarily say they fold, yet some come in boxes. Is there any particular type of mattress I need or should stay away from?
I am also wanting to replace the cushions for the bunk area above the drivers seat. Any idea if I can order those?
What is current there is in great condition but the previous owners have dogs that are actively in the unit, and my daughter is terribly service to dogs and has very bad asthma, so we are wanting to replace these surfaces just as a precaution.
Thanks in advance!
Jonsh4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 08:06 PM   #2

Recommendation for replacing split mattress

We purchased our mattress from mattress insider last year and are very happy with it. I am sure they do hinged mattress.
Here is a link to a discussion on where to buy a mattress.
As the attic bunk goes, I would look at unzipping the cover and washing it. To replace the foam, look to your local upholster shop.

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...ss-153321.html
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 08:40 PM   #3

Our 2016 2250 main bed has a split mattress. The split is angled, so the upper half slides up over the top of the lower (foot) half. Both halves have vinyl/fabric sides and bottoms, the top is fabric. It appears they were assembled & sewn with no access to remove the foam. The lower half is snapped to the floor of the slide, so it stays put in respect to the base.