Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2020, 10:40 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 1,283
Sunseeker AC Not Cold

Hello Forum'ers,

Good friends of mine have a 2013 Sunseeker C, 31 ft. and their rooftop AC is only blowing cool. It cannot cool down their rig in mid 80-degree temps. They had a friend come over that does HVAC work but was perplexed that there are now access ports or such to test the unit out. Any suggestions I can pass along to them from Sunseeker owners, or I guess RV'ers in general on what to look for. They called a couple of places in the Buffalo, NY area but it approaching mid-summer and everyone camping because of Covid-19, they were told weeks before they could get their rig in for a service call.
__________________
sherman12 and The Fabulous Miss Barb
2014 SportsCoach Cross Country 360DL DP
Former 2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 11:08 AM   #2
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,380
These R/V rooftop A/C units are what are called 'sealed units' and have no service ports.

They are made to not be serviced easily.

There have been several lengthy threads recently on the pros/cons of adding a service port to check the freon level.

If it is a Dometic unit, several models were under a warranty replacement program.

Unfortunately, they are simply designed to be replaced.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 12:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 1,283
Sounds like something out of the world of camping. Thanks 5picker.
__________________
sherman12 and The Fabulous Miss Barb
2014 SportsCoach Cross Country 360DL DP
Former 2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2020, 12:37 PM   #4
Pickin', Campin', Mason
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 12,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by sherman12 View Post
Sounds like something out of the world of camping. Thanks 5picker.
Well... not only the world of camping... back in the day, my father made a very good living as an appliance repairman. Today they are simply delivery men for new/replacement units. It has become a 'throw-away' world!
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel-Goodyear Endurance Tires
2017 Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4 - Factory Puck B&W Companion
TST Tire Monitor w/Repeater - Sinemate 3500w Gen.

Days Camped: '17=30 '18=51 '19=58 '20=88
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 08:10 PM   #5
Happy Camper
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Near Selma, Alabama
Posts: 144
I added a service port to my main unit, serviced it back up and have enjoyed cold air for three years so far. Cost a lot less and easier than replacing the whole unit.
Johntgif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2020, 08:33 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 46
Make sure to clean the coils + the fan blade's + filter
Some people over look the easy things
Do mine every year, sometimes twice
You can add service port's , a HVAC guy may charge a couple hundred , if you know him .more if it's a big company.
My 15000 btu unit will drop 20 degrees from outside temp .
95 out 75 in
fred+sherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 11:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 1,283
Besides being able to do analysis, what do the service ports due? Is this to add freon, or whatever coolant is being used today?
__________________
sherman12 and The Fabulous Miss Barb
2014 SportsCoach Cross Country 360DL DP
Former 2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 04:42 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 46
Yes the port's are to charge the system , or test for leaks .
If you have no freon in the sealed system you have a leak somewhere .
To find the leak you can look around the piping . if you see a oily substance it's your leak .
If you add port's to the system have a HVAC guy help you , high pressure in the piping . you can do a vacuum test with the new port's , if it stays at 500 microns or 1000 for a half hr. That would tell you no leak . well were did the gas go to in the first place .
If you add port's and you cut the pipe and there's a change in the system 300lb. you can get hurt bad , frozen fingers , lost of eyes , hire a HVAC guy . or buy a new a/c unit
To add port's and test + recharge could be half the cost of a new unit .
fred+sherry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 09:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Western New York State
Posts: 1,283
Super info guys I'll pass along to my friends.
Yesterday they got someone to look at their rig, waiting to hear from them if the problem was discovered or resolved
__________________
sherman12 and The Fabulous Miss Barb
2014 SportsCoach Cross Country 360DL DP
Former 2011 Georgetown 330TS
Kia Sportage on MasterTow Dolly
sherman12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2020, 11:04 PM   #10
Brake is on left
 
The Evil Twin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 646
I had a unit replaced under warranty thankfully. They actually left the old unit in the garage of the TH. I bought saddle valves to pressurize the unit and find the leak at the evap coil. Brazed it closed and installed permanent service ports to evac and charge. So now I have a 15k unit ready to go.
The Evil Twin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:30 AM   #11
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,345
Smarty! Don't you just love it when things go tour way?
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Evil Twin View Post
I had a unit replaced under warranty thankfully. They actually left the old unit in the garage of the TH. I bought saddle valves to pressurize the unit and find the leak at the evap coil. Brazed it closed and installed permanent service ports to evac and charge. So now I have a 15k unit ready to go.
__________________
2018 Forester 3011 DS

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sunseeker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16 PM.