Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-19-2017, 09:31 AM   #1

Using arctic package on 2017 2800QS

We have only used our rv twice and are total newbies..
I am worried about having the unit plugged into the house electrical and sitting in driveway. We planned on heading south before this but selling house is more time consuming than I planned on. So now I have a full fresh tank and empty black and grey tanks.

1. Temps are falling so when do I need to turn on artic package?
2. Does the system heat all three tanks, fresh, black and grey?
3. How much water needs to be in each tank?
4. Am I missing doing anything? We are trying to get ready and be gone before first snowfall.
Tom C 47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 09:38 AM   #2

You might think about draining the fw tank just because you don't know when you are leaving. Best to start out with good fresh water. As to the tanks you have to have some liquid in them when using the heaters, I believe they come on when the liquid hits 34* and off around 40* It does take some time at cold weather to freeze water in a tank. I would be more concerned about the water lines and water heater.
2016 Flagstaff 26 FKWS
AF&AM & El Korah Shrine of Idaho
SeaDog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2017, 05:40 PM   #3
Sunseeker 2400MBW

I don’t really understand the Arctic thing. Ours has it but at the PDI they said it would last til about 2am. Now thinking about that sounds so dumb. I guess we said a time to turn it on and I guess that’s with the battery? Obviously I need to research this.

If you have it plugged into your home couldn’t you run a little electric heater? We have a no tip over boat heater and does it ever work well! Wow, the whole MH is warmed up quickly.
Old 10-21-2017, 06:20 AM   #4

Tom C 47,