Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2018, 04:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 28
Will heat pump turn on furnace

We have a 2017 sunseeker 2800qs and are wondering if we have the heat pump on and the outside temp drops below 32 degrees, Wil the heat pump automatically turn on the furnace when the heat pump can not heat efficiently?
Tom C 47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom C 47 View Post
We have a 2017 sunseeker 2800qs and are wondering if we have the heat pump on and the outside temp drops below 32 degrees, Wil the heat pump automatically turn on the furnace when the heat pump can not heat efficiently?
NO. The furnace is controlled by the thermostat temp setting, not the heat pump. IF the heat pump has an aux heat strip ( I do not know if they do, I doubt it due to a large amp draw.) then the heat pump will turn that on. Its just like the heat pump in a residence.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,120
well maybe

Our heat pump will kick on the propane furnace when the heat pump fails to extract external heat from the air. Or we can select furnace only. We did dump the dometic heat pump for a coleman unit last year. I do not think the dometic had that feature.
__________________
Hoglou the DH & BK the DW (retired and happy)
WestGA KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Check out the "mods" in the albums
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: In the south
Posts: 266
If it works like one in a house. Then it has heat strips when it get below a certain temp out side the heat strips kick in and provide extra heat. The blower on the furnace will cut on to circulate the heat.
Gonefishing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoglou View Post
Our heat pump will kick on the propane furnace when the heat pump fails to extract external heat from the air. Or we can select furnace only. We did dump the dometic heat pump for a coleman unit last year. I do not think the dometic had that feature.
see there, never to old to learn something.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 05:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Port Charlotte Fl/Hinsdale Ma
Posts: 4,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonefishing1 View Post
If it works like one in a house. Then it has heat strips when it get below a certain temp out side the heat strips kick in and provide extra heat. The blower on the furnace will cut on to circulate the heat.
If the furnace blower is on, the furnace is providing the heat. It's not gonna just move the heat around.
cavie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 06:38 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,120
As a side note it is 28 right now outside. Using an oil radiator in the coach, keeping up to 72. Bet I would burn a lb or two of propane this weekend if I was using the furnace........
__________________
Hoglou the DH & BK the DW (retired and happy)
WestGA KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Check out the "mods" in the albums
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 06:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: In the south
Posts: 266
Quote:
Originally Posted by cavie View Post
If the furnace blower is on, the furnace is providing the heat. It's not gonna just move the heat around.
That is correct but it is the heat strips that are proving the extra heat. If like a house furnace.
Gonefishing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2018, 08:58 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 36
On our 2017 2860ds no it wont bring in the furnace, when we camp in the winter we find that we can get away with using the heat pump during the day but have to switch it over to furnace at night when the tempature drops
gasgastwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 07:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
mcnabbwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,471
It appears there are a lot of different types of answers. Looks like it would depend on your particular unit. Our unit has the electric heat tape contained within and it will also activate the furnace if needed.
__________________
Bill & Pam
2014 Trilogy 3650RE
2015 F350 PSD
mcnabbwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 08:24 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Steeljag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Fl.
Posts: 1,323
If I understand the question correctly, I would think not ! The thermostat setting is on Heat Pump, or furnace ! I do not think it will automatically switch from one to the other at a certain temp !
__________________
2018 Forester 3011DS (Purchased 04/26/17)
2010 Flagstaff 26 RLSS (Sold 05/16)
2012 Ford F-150 Ecoboost, Screw, H/D, 3.73
1930 lbs CCC
2014 Jeep Rubicon JK
Going where the weather suits my clothes.
Steeljag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 08:42 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mcnabbwr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Lower Michigan
Posts: 1,471
The following is taken from a manual for heat pumps..

How does the Heat Pump Thermostat Work

The RvComfort.HP, the RvComfort.PHP, the Coleman True-Air, and the RvComfort.ZC thermostats by RvProducts Inc. are all capable of running not only an Air Conditioning unit, but also an Electric Heat Pump. Frequently we receive calls from customers who do not understand the functions of the Heat Pump Thermostats. This guide is a quick run through of the information already provided in the Thermostat Operation Manual, included with each thermostat.

The Heat Pump is an electric source for heat. It will supply and maintain heat assuming the outside (ambient) temperature is above 40 degrees. This number of course can be slightly higher or lower depending on the humidity. Higher humidity can cause a heat pump to lose efficiency at a slightly higher ambient temperature, while lower humidity can cause a heat pump to lose efficiency at a lower ambient temperature.

Since no one wants to wake up to find that the outside temperature dropped below forty degrees and it is now 50 degrees inside the coach, the Heat Pump thermostats are programmed internally to recognize when the temperature drops five degrees or more from the set temperature to the actual inside room temperature. When the temperature exceeds five degrees or more between the two, the thermostat will default to the next available heat source.

The thermostat, upon sensing a temperature split of five degrees or more in the electric heat mode will bring the gas heat on to assist the electric heat. This is the first strike. A strike is created by the thermostat having to change modes (or run dual modes to sustain a temperature split). The electric heat and the gas heat will continue to run together until the thermostat reaches the set temperature and satisfies. When the electric heat comes back on, it will be in electric heat only at that point. If the temperature again drops five degrees or more from the set point, the thermostat will again bring the gas heat on to assist
__________________
Bill & Pam
2014 Trilogy 3650RE
2015 F350 PSD
mcnabbwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 01:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 114
I have a 2016 Sightseer and when the heat pump can't keep up my propane furnace does kick in
jdkbrooks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:39 PM   #14
7 Year Class A RV'er
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Winter Park, FL
Posts: 1,067
Our heat pump (Dometic with Dometic thermostat) DOES automatically default over from heat pump to furnace when outdoor temps drop below about 30F. You can select Furnace or Heat Pump on the thermostat to ensure the furnace only is used when dry camping. Works great!
__________________
2015 Legacy SR340 360RB
2014 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Toad

Gigi, Poppy and Sadie Lady...On the road, but not full time!
conceptumator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Millcreek UT
Posts: 333
One thing to remember is that if your furnace is not running then your tanks are not being heated by the airflow from the furnace. Might be comfy upstairs but freezing downstairs.
__________________
2018 Rockwood 2509S Mini Lite
Past: 1984 Road Ranger 20', 1988 Kit Companion
1984 Starcraft 24 foot popup
TV: 1999 Dodge 2500 Cummins 4x4
Honda EU2200i Generator, 300 Watts Solar
Ham Callsign KD7UM
UT_Grandpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2018, 02:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Steeljag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Central, Fl.
Posts: 1,323
Apparently, I thought wrong then....LOL !
__________________
2018 Forester 3011DS (Purchased 04/26/17)
2010 Flagstaff 26 RLSS (Sold 05/16)
2012 Ford F-150 Ecoboost, Screw, H/D, 3.73
1930 lbs CCC
2014 Jeep Rubicon JK
Going where the weather suits my clothes.
Steeljag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2018, 01:42 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Kirk S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Savannah
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by UT_Grandpa View Post
One thing to remember is that if your furnace is not running then your tanks are not being heated by the airflow from the furnace. Might be comfy upstairs but freezing downstairs.
You are so right.
We don't winterize in south GA due to the normally mild winters. Our rv is parked beside our house and plugged in to shore power. For the next week we expect nighttime temperatures in the 20's. Propane furnace is set at 50. Outside temp right now is in the 30's. Coach temperature is 49, bay temperature is 47, because I've got to keep that plumbing warm too.

On the original subject, our Dometic heat pump doesn't have heat strips. When it cannot satisfy the thermostat when set on heat pump, the setting changes to furnace. I discovered this the first week we owned it during a cold snap while in Tampa when the furnace came on automatically.
__________________
Kirk
2017 Forester 3051S
Kirk S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 07:54 PM   #18
Junior Member
 
GigSeeker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 8
I'm confused about this. Our 2500TS panel has modes for heat and cooling, and a separate furnace button. If I select heat and not furnace am I burning propane anyway? If not what is providing the heat source?
GigSeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:18 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Kirk S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Savannah
Posts: 783
Quote:
Originally Posted by GigSeeker View Post
I'm confused about this. Our 2500TS panel has modes for heat and cooling, and a separate furnace button. If I select heat and not furnace am I burning propane anyway? If not what is providing the heat source?
We're discussing heat heat pumps and furnaces connected to the same thermostat that has choices of fan, cooling, heat pump and furnace.

When running the heat pump on shore power or generator and the thermostat detects that the heat pump isn't providing enough heat to satisfy the thermostat setting due to outdoor temperature being below the operating minimum, it will automatically switch to the propane furnace setting.
The propane tank must have gas in it and be turned on for the furnace to operate.

Im not familiar with what's installed in a 2500TS. You may have a different set-up if your controls are separate and not using a digital thermostat. If you're using 120 volts to get heat you either have a heat pump or heat strips.

Your 12 volt furnace may only operate when you choose to run it and would be the only time you're heating with propane. Usually the heat comes from different vents that the electric heat source.
__________________
Kirk
2017 Forester 3051S
Kirk S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 09:44 PM   #20
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by GigSeeker View Post
I'm confused about this. Our 2500TS panel has modes for heat and cooling, and a separate furnace button. If I select heat and not furnace am I burning propane anyway? If not what is providing the heat source?


Not burning propane
Heat pump is providing the heat from your shore power ( electric hook up) or generator powers the heat pump.
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace, pump

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.