Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-17-2022, 12:05 PM   #1

Question winterizing question

Hi all,

While I am not new to campers and RV's, I am new to this Sunseeker 2860 DS class C. Living in Central Florida Idid not think it would be necessary to blow out and drain the water lines. However, the weather guesser's are already saying there is a potential for a hard freeze Christmas week! If they are talking about it a week ahead of time, it is going to happen! I learned that with Hurricane Nicole!

I watched a video on YouTube, of a dealer winterizing a 3150 and I thought I was doing things the same. I opened the blue drain tube valve after blowing out the lines, draining the hot water tank, and opening all of the faucet valves and the toilet. I thought I was done, but after reopening the blue drain line valve, a lot of water drained out. I doubt there is that much pex piping in the camper to hold the amount of water that drained! Does this blue line also drain the fresh water tank?

There is a 3" dump valve coming from under the camper, right under location of the fresh water tank, which I am assuming was to drain the fresh water tank. Is that that drain for something else, as there are both a grey and black water valve in the Utility service bay!

Anyone or all who have a 2860 and go through the winterizing process, I would appreciate your help.

Thanks, Bill

You can Email me at bgblu67vette@gmail.com
Ratracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2022, 12:14 PM   #2

On our Sunseeker, the blue drain line IS the fresh water tank drain; it is not the plumbing low point drain.

By “3” dump valve”, do you mean 3” length or 3” diameter? Pictures of you rig would sure help. If I’m not mistaken your unit has an outside kitchen and a second grey water waste tank.