Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-04-2017, 07:50 PM   #1

First trip...Austin to Mesa Verde

Total newbies and first trip. On the last day now. Having a TT is awesome! 7 days in the riad with no problems. Towing a 26BH with an Armada getting about 12mph.....not bad. Wants to run abiut 65mph so i let it...not hitting above 70. Love just rolling and calling a couple hours ahead where ever we felt like stopping. On my phone so keeping it short. Will post up some pics and stories when we get home. Got a few crazy ones.
KnuckleBones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 01:44 AM   #2

So, found pottery pieces at the perimeter of a site in Mesa Verde. Was a nice surprise for sure.
Old 08-06-2017, 01:45 AM   #3

Went rafting in Durango....ended up in a full on down pour with hail and lightening. Loved every minute of it!

Old 08-06-2017, 01:47 AM   #4

On the way home we hit Route 66 and stopped in Santa Rosa. Got some nice pics of vintage Americana at its best.

Old 08-06-2017, 01:50 AM   #5

Dwellings at Mesa Verde were awesome as well.

Old 08-06-2017, 01:59 AM   #6

Strangest thing that happened this trip was we met a great couple in the spot next to us at Mesa Verde. Two days later on the road in Texas we witnessed a truck ram a TT in front of us...truck went off the road and crashed....TT slowed and stopped. I stopped to help. It was the couple from Mesa Verde that got hit! They were OK and their rig had minimal damage. What are the odds of that!
Old 08-06-2017, 02:28 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus

Glad you had a great trip. Mesa Verde is beautiful. I spent a summer in college working as a wrangler on a dude ranch in Mancos about 15 min from mesa Verde. Used to camp with the horses under the stars at transfer corrals. Your picture of the cliff dwellings brings back so many wonderful memories for me. Thank you for sharing.