Old 02-20-2020, 04:51 PM   #1

Ogden Utah to Jackson Hole Route

Hi my friends!
Adding Jackson Hole as a 3 night stop over then Grand Tetons and on to Yellowstone National Park this summer.

So I'm an experienced driver in my Georgetown motorhome and toad with over 70,000 miles under my belt and no accidents. (knock on wood)
We are not in a rush so the scenic drive is what we are looking for.

My question to all who are from the area or have traveled these routes I need your opinion on the best route you think we should take to Jackson Hole from the Ogden Utah area.
Oh by the way we are staying at The Virginian RV Resort in Jackson Hole.
Expensive but a great location.

Route 1

Route 2

Route 3

I looked at Route 1 which seems to be the best route for an enjoyable ride to Jackson Hole.

I looked at route 2 on Google Map and seems OK but looks like a lot of hills and curve roads etc.

Route 3 - I have driven this route (2012) and even took the short cut over the Grand Tetons pass. 10% grade. Not Again thank you and I know you can go south around the mountain on this route to Jackson but more miles.

Looking forward to your reply's and opinions.

Thank you.
Iggy
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2020-02-20 143229.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	318.1 KB
ID:	223706  

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2020, 05:25 PM   #2

A lot depends on how big of a day you want to make of it. So lets just drop Rte.#2 as that is pure windy narrow road pretty much all the way through.
Route1 is not too bad. I came down that way in 2018 with my 5th wheel.
As for Route3 it's easy running up I-15 to Idaho Falls but stay on 26 all the way to Alpine Junction and then 89 on up to Jackson. Yep I've been across the shortcut over Teton Pass but never in an RV.

Throw in route#4 taking 89 all the way up through Logan Ut. to Montpelier is plenty windy but a nice drive.

Old 02-20-2020, 05:39 PM   #3

Lived there in the late 70’s. I doubt it has changed a lot.