Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-24-2019, 04:07 PM   #1

Question 378ts Inverter wiring for GFCI and Fridge

I am very new to RV'ing - just got a new 2019 Georgetown XL 378TS a few weeks ago, I did a post in another thread about schematics and such which seems to be rather scarce on any detail. I have not found anything related to how the inverters are wired in.

The coach has GFCI outlets, with the main one in the bathroom - it has a breaker in the coach breaker panel. The full size fridge also has a breaker in the panel, they operate independently and work just fine on shore power.
I could have swore that both the GFCI outlets and fridge worked on house batteries with inverter on, but now all the sudden, the GFCI outlets do not. (Fridge is fine)

I dug around for a couple of hours, the inverter, is above the propane tank, it's GFCI outlet is not tripped, when on inverter, if I unplug this the fridge goes dark. There is a small black transfer switch right next to this inverter, on the ONLY wire plugged in to the inverter outlet.

So now I am wondering about the GFCI outlets, I am missunderstanding how they should work?

since i havent found any relevant drawings,so I made this one - it may not be correct (and i am using visio so it is a bit funny), i dont know if N is actually switched on the small transfer switch, and I dont know the actual X/Y alternation on the coach breakers - but the drawing is how it behaves now.

It is so darn tricky to get in behind panels and cubby holes, so it is so hard to trace and troubleshoot - i found two large-gage wires and breakers off he battery center, one goes to the inverter, I havent found where the other goes yet.

any hints would be great
stokkeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2019, 06:10 PM   #2

just read my own post and it came out rather fuzzy.. here are some specific questions for anyone who might know: