Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-31-2020, 04:40 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
AC controls for Georgetown GT7

We have recently bought a new Georgetown rv and the temp sensors for the two ac's appear to be reversed. Anyone know where the sensor wires terminate? I think they may just need to be swapped. Forgive if too wordy, this my first post.
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 05:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,579
You have 2 hot 12 volt wires to the thermostat
You have 2 control wires to the AC control box just below the AC in the ceiling.

Why do you think wires are wrong? Are you a control specialist or electrician?

Explain in full.
What is the thermostat set at?
Is the fan set to Auto?
You do have two thermoistats or do you have the tablet and or the cell phone app?
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 06:40 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
Yes, I am a retired electrician. I have a Precision circuits control panel that monitors and controls the 2 ac's along with most everything else on the RV. the display for the bedroom ac shows the temp in the living room and the display for the LR ac shows the temp in the bedroom. These temp readings also control the ac's function. Thus our first trip with another couple who prefer warmer sleeping temps than we do had our BR ac never running once the LR temp got down to our set point so we were hot. The LR ac never went off because it was warm in the BR.
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:21 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,579
I would think it was a tablet being programmed wrong and not the AC units themselves.
Call the manufacturer of the Tablet system as I have been told they are very helpful and may help you reporgram the tablet or at least veryify it actually hard wired wrong.
Still under warranty you can also take it back to the dealer.
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:24 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
OK, Thanks Iggy. I will check that out.
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:51 PM   #6
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 1,639
I'm not a fan of that system for the A/C's and heat pumps. On our 2020 we have real thermostats but on the 2020.5's the thermostats were removed and replaced with little black rectangular "boxes", which are the temperature sensors. When I saw one I tried pushing on it because I thought it was some kind of switch since it's stuck in the middle of the wall.

Not only does the Precision Plex generator autostart still not work for "the temperature is high inside", right now I can use the little infrared remote while lying in bed to adjust the temperature by feel. With the new system I'd have to drag out my phone and get blinded by the screen. Definitely a "Just because you can does not mean you should" to me.

Anyway, there's a lot of the wiring behind the touchscreen. Maybe you can chase the wires that way. On the side of each corner of the touchscreen you'll see a tiny slot. You can use a small screwdriver to pry each corner off. Behind each corner is one of those square-headed screws. Remove the screws and you'll see a real rat's nest. And the TV splitter and Bluetooth module for the Precision Plex system on mine.

There is a data cable plugged into the back of the touchscreen but there are two sockets (at least on mine). Take a picture so you will know which socket the cable goes in should you decide to unplug the touchscreen to set it aside.

HTH,

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2020, 07:54 PM   #7
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackey View Post
We have recently bought a new Georgetown rv ...
Please consider clicking on User CP on the light green bar near the top on the left. Then scroll down to Edit Signature and enter in your model year, model, and floorplan number. That will help people give you better answers based on your exact model.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 03:04 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
Thanks, will do.
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 03:07 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
test for signature
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT7 36D7
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 03:28 PM   #10
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 1,639
i doubt you'll find anything useful here but give it a shot.

On the touchscreen tap the Settings gear in the upper left corner. On that screen tap the word at the very top of the screen in the center.

That opens other, hidden screens. You can keep tapping around, usually whatever word is at the top center, and see different things and set a few parameters, such as your RV model. Some of the screens are non-functional on mine, such as the generator and load-shedding screens.

At least that's how the touchscreen works on the GT5. I've never tried this on a GT7 but maybe at the next RV show.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2020, 05:17 PM   #11
NXR
Senior Member
 
NXR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Family room couch
Posts: 1,639
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackey View Post
test for signature
Looks good. Note that if you use the mobile app there is no way to set a signature and the one you set from a browser does not work with the mobile app.

Ray
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT5 34H5
NXR is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 02:46 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2020
Location: Beach City, Texas
Posts: 8
Follow UP

I contacted Precision Circuits Tech and they were able to tell me where the temp sensor wires landed on the back of the controller touch pad. They were easy to just unplug and swap. took 5 minutes and it is fixed. Thanks for all those that helped.
__________________
2020 Georgetown GT7 36D7
Jackey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2020, 02:55 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,579
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackey View Post
I contacted Precision Circuits Tech and they were able to tell me where the temp sensor wires landed on the back of the controller touch pad. They were easy to just unplug and swap. took 5 minutes and it is fixed. Thanks for all those that helped.
So this has been this way since you got the rig.
Wrong temp sensor hooke dup to the AC's

Glad they figured it out.
__________________
2012 Large box with wheels. 73,000 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
georgetown

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.