Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-11-2018, 08:33 AM   #1
Member
 
rcampli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Add a 2nd tank monitoring system in outside or in water intake and drain compartment

Any one tackle this mod. On their own. Tired of running in and out when dumping or filling up fresh water tank
rcampli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 08:34 AM   #2
Member
 
rcampli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcampli View Post
Any one tackle this mod. On their own. Tired of running in and out when dumping or filling up fresh water tank
I have a 2016 FR GT 335DS
rcampli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 08:42 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 5,250
Why do you go in and out when the vent (overflow) will let you know when the tank is full and just open the drain and let it flow for emptying. What are you looking for by going in and out?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 09:28 AM   #4
Member
 
rcampli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
More for when I'm dumping like to have a tank monitoring display right there so I can check if and if the something hanging up on the Sensors for an improper Reading
rcampli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 12:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 3,217
I don't get it

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcampli View Post
More for when I'm dumping like to have a tank monitoring display right there so I can check if and if the something hanging up on the Sensors for an improper Reading
I don't get it. If you are trying to see if the sensors are reading incorrectly, drain the tank until no more water comes out, close the drain, go inside (once), and see what the indicator reads.

What benefit would there be in reading the indicator before the tank is dry?

Larry
Larry-NC is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2018, 11:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcampli View Post
Any one tackle this mod. On their own. Tired of running in and out when dumping or filling up fresh water tank
If you want to know how much water you're putting in your fresh water tank, get one of these: a hose end water meter https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
OR.... as mentioned before, wait til it fills and the overflow spills out water.

If you are concerned about seeing if the grey/black water is done dumping, get one of these: a clear view sewer elbow
https://smile.amazon.com/Valterra-12...rv+sewer+elbow

Usually your rv supply store has the elbow. ( Sorry about sending you to Amazon. It's just easier for me to give their link.)
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:11 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Michigan/Rosarito, MX
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry-NC View Post
I don't get it. If you are trying to see if the sensors are reading incorrectly, drain the tank until no more water comes out, close the drain, go inside (once), and see what the indicator reads.

What benefit would there be in reading the indicator before the tank is dry?

Larry

I too have interest in such a reader - when using the black tank flush it often takes several charges to clean the sensors and requires a trip inside to check them. Further, does anyone know of an after market sensor mod that actually works.
__________________
Steve & Cody the Wonder Dog (he wonders if he is a dog or not)

Forest River - Rockwood
2018 Ultra Lite 2040WS 5th wh
2018 Ram 1500 ED W/GDE Tunes
airlifts - Curt Hitch - 392 rear end
sasch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:21 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcampli View Post
Any one tackle this mod. On their own. Tired of running in and out when dumping or filling up fresh water tank
That would be nice to have on the ba\lack water tank outside while filling and flushing a few time.
Being the level gauge only applies voltage when you hit the button I see no reason you couldn't buy another control panel and tap in the new panel before the probes and find a 12 volt + to the new panel.

Here is a picture of the original 2 tank inside and my modified one outside by buying just a new panel.
By tapping into the ground and sensors and finding a 12 volt power source will do it.


What do you think?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2009-03-11_162718_monitorpanel.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	16.7 KB
ID:	179183   Click image for larger version

Name:	Level.JPG
Views:	77
Size:	49.4 KB
ID:	179185  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS (Large box with wheels) 76,100 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 09:17 AM   #9
Member
 
dolfan1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 32
I have a 2017 GT5 31L5 with the LCI One Control touch panel system for monitoring tanks and such. They have a phone app for both the iPhone and Android systems that you can use to control and see what the panel does.

I use it while outside of the RV while flushing the black tanks and know when the tank is getting full so I can dump the water used for cleaning.

Not sure what RV you have but the last couple of year models have the LCI One Control System. If you do have the LCI system get the phone app if you have not already done so.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	94
Size:	30.3 KB
ID:	179196
dolfan1981 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 11:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by dolfan1981 View Post
I have a 2017 GT5 31L5 with the LCI One Control touch panel system for monitoring tanks..................................
Attachment 179196
Nice but don't have in my 2012
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS (Large box with wheels) 76,100 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 12:26 PM   #11
Member
 
rcampli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
I have a 2016 GT 335DS it was Mfg'd in late 2015 we took Delivery in Mid December. We purchased our MH at the Hershey RV show. IT doesn't have that type of Tank Monitoring Display
rcampli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 02:40 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,833
I think I may have found a simple cheap solution.

I just found these battery operated water alarms that have a small plate attached to it and when water makes a cross connection the pad it alarms.

My idea is to remove the pad and attach the top and bottom sensors of the tank. When the tank gets full of water and stuff it will make the top censor and bottom sensor act like a switch and set off alarm.
You can buy them from China for a few dollars and free shipping or buy in USA for $6 or $7

I actually may buy one and test it out.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	24.4 KB
ID:	179260   Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture2.JPG
Views:	44
Size:	46.8 KB
ID:	179261  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS (Large box with wheels) 76,100 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 07:44 AM   #13
Member
 
rcampli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iggy View Post
I think I may have found a simple cheap solution.

I just found these battery operated water alarms that have a small plate attached to it and when water makes a cross connection the pad it alarms.

My idea is to remove the pad and attach the top and bottom sensors of the tank. When the tank gets full of water and stuff it will make the top censor and bottom sensor act like a switch and set off alarm.
You can buy them from China for a few dollars and free shipping or buy in USA for $6 or $7

I actually may buy one and test it out.
I like it. Thanks Iggy for Researching
rcampli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2018, 08:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,833
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcampli View Post
I like it. Thanks Iggy for Researching
Yes, it sounds promising for $6 instead of $85 + tax for a complete panel.
I plan on tapping into the top sensor and the bottom sensor and we will see what happens.
Battery operated with on and off switch
It arrives in about a week from who knows where. lol
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS (Large box with wheels) 76,100 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2018, 03:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 7,833
My $6 black water tank high level alarm has arrived.
It uses a 9 volt battery

I plan on adding two eyes at the end of the wires and attach to the top and bottom sensors in the exterior of the black tank.
It has a OFF and ON switch on the side so you leave it off until you plan to fill and dump.

Should not interfere with the existing system as those resistors and circuits do not get energized until you hit the button inside to measure.

I man even just put two alligator clips on it.
I will let you know.


I have a video with sound but unable to upload it for some reason.




$4.98 plus $1.29 shipping


https://www.ebay.com/itm/Water-Leak-...sid=m570.l1313
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Water Level Alarm 001.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	242.9 KB
ID:	180173  
__________________
2012 Georgetown XL 378TS (Large box with wheels) 76,100 miles
Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 11:40 AM   #16
Cat Coach Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Did Iggy's $6.00 black tank high level alarm work? Also some have said on other threads that you shouldn't use the black tank flush when the valve is closed. I assume that is to prevent overfilling the black tank. This inexpensive alarm would prevent that if it works.
Cat Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 11:55 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 2,924
Cat Coach

The black tank flush has a sprinkler type attachment at the top. The purpose is to 'rinse' solids/contaminants from the top of the tank to the bottom of the tank. Filling the black tank with the black tank flush defeats the purpose and that's part of the reason that they want you to leave the valve open.
As to the alarm... don't know.
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 12:11 PM   #18
Cat Coach Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Thanks Reverse_Snowbird. That also answers my question regarding how the black tank flush works
Cat coach
Cat Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 12:16 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 5,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cat Coach View Post
Thanks Reverse_Snowbird. That also answers my question regarding how the black tank flush works
Cat coach
Most of us..."most" not all.......pull the black valve and let it empty. Close the valve and let the black flush add water to tank, pull valve, close valve, repeat. I'd always do mine about 3 times letting the water on black flush run about 2 minutes. NEVER WALK AWAY FROM IT WHILE YOU'RE DOING THAT.
TheWolfPaq82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2020, 01:21 PM   #20
Cat Coach Driver
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Posts: 5
Talking

Thanks Wolfpaq, though I still don’t know if Iggy’s mod worked adding the inexpensive high water level alarm.
Cat Coach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drain, tank, water

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.