Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-06-2013, 09:13 AM   #1

Air bags vs. Timbrens

What are the opinions out there about the airbags vs timbrens suspension mods? I'm primarily interested in towing stability and secondary is ride comfort. I would like my 8 year old to stop getting sick everytime we drive on the Michigan freeways. But first, we are towing a small car or a large boat (near max capacity).
MGOBlue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 09:58 AM   #2

haha. as a MI driver I also know your woes.. I am also looking into the air springs or rubber springs, 100 dollar diff between the two, I think I might go with the timbrens I do not need to raise my rear just get rid of some of the harsh ride when the trailer is attached..

06 LBZ ,CC 4x
lots of mods
Superglide
jevanb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 10:10 AM   #3

The airbags are much better than the timbrens. You can control the ride quality with them. They don't jack the truck up they level it out when towing. They will jack he back end up when it's not loaded and give you a rough ride. That's why you deflated then when you are not loaded. I have towed with them and without them and the stability and ride quality is much better with the bags.
chiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 01:13 PM   #4

As with everything there are pro's & con's. I had air bags on my last truck. They were used for leveling after the inbox camper was loaded. I am planning to install Pac Brake air bags on the present truck. As mentioned they are great because they can be aired down after removing the load to soften the ride.