Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-31-2023, 12:30 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2023
Posts: 1
Electrical - Receptacles not working on generator

First post. Normally lurk. Will try and be clear with details up front. Hope itís not a repeat but I didnít see a clear answer.
Second owner of 2016 Georgetown 378TS.

Generator is on. No shore power at the moment.

Lights, A\C / heating system, and refrigerator are all working fine. No power on any receptacle (bedroom, bathroom, or kitchen).

All receptacles work fine when connected to shore power.

Is this ďnormalĒ or do I need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt?

Thanks
PvilleSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 12:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
cmulvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Copperas Cove, TX
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by PvilleSteve View Post
First post. Normally lurk. Will try and be clear with details up front. Hope itís not a repeat but I didnít see a clear answer.
Second owner of 2016 Georgetown 378TS.

Generator is on. No shore power at the moment.

Lights, A\C / heating system, and refrigerator are all working fine. No power on any receptacle (bedroom, bathroom, or kitchen).

All receptacles work fine when connected to shore power.

Is this ďnormalĒ or do I need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt?

Thanks
Lights, A/C, Heating system and most likely your refrigerator are 12 volt. I'd initally check your CGI recepticle to see if it's tripped. Try resetting. You'r unit should have at least one if not two. Quite often located in the bathroom and outside.

If still no go, I'm sure others will have recommendations.
__________________
Christian M
2021 Forest River Forester 3011DS
cmulvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 12:57 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 3,676
Are you 30 amp or 50 amp?

When you say a/c working does that mean the a/c fan runs? I ask this as the a/c fan requires 120 volt power and if it is running we know the generator is providing that 120 volt power.

If you are 30 amp and the a/c fan is running we can eliminate the generator and transfer switch. I would then look at the gfci, probably in the bathroom. See if it will reset.

If 50 amp there is more that needs to be looked at. Go to the generator and trip and reset both circuit breakers on the generator.
Reset the gfci as above. If this doesnít fix the problem it is probably time to get a meter and check any automatic transfer switch.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 12:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmulvey View Post
Lights, A/C, Heating system and most likely your refrigerator are 12 volt. I'd initally check your CGI recepticle to see if it's tripped. Try resetting. You'r unit should have at least one if not two. Quite often located in the bathroom and outside.
If still no go, I'm sure others will have recommendations.
Then why would they work on shore power?

Long shot since you didn't say both A/C's work.... Check that one CB on the generator is not tripped.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 01:40 PM   #5
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goodyear, Arizona
Posts: 30,702
Moved thread from the General Tech and Repair section to the Georgetown sub-forum.
__________________
Dan-Retired California Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 SCREW XTR 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
4pt Equal-i-zer WDH and 1828lbs of payload capacity
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 01:52 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by PvilleSteve View Post

Is this “normal” or do I need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt?

Thanks
It's not going to be a gfci/breaker issue since these items don't self reset and you state that it works on shore power. As others have mentioned, it would be good to know if this is a 30 or 50 amp service?

Clarification: You could have a breaker issue at the generator/transfer but not in the RV.
phil435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 02:30 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 7,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil435 View Post
It's not going to be a gfci/breaker issue since these items don't self reset and you state that it works on shore power. As others have mentioned, it would be good to know if this is a 30 or 50 amp service?

Clarification: You could have a breaker issue at the generator/transfer but not in the RV.
OK, it's a Georgetown motorhome/50Amp service/onboard gen/ATS. Everything is in the RV.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 03:08 PM   #8
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 20,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmulvey View Post
Lights, A/C, Heating system and most likely your refrigerator are 12 volt. I'd initally check your CGI recepticle to see if it's tripped. Try resetting. You'r unit should have at least one if not two. Quite often located in the bathroom and outside.

If still no go, I'm sure others will have recommendations.
A/C is not 12v although it needs 12v for its thermostat.
__________________
2015 FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49/'14 = 74/'15 = 74/'16 = 85/'17 = 110/'18 = 111/'19 = 86/'20 =108/'21 = 115/'22 = 135; 12/'23 Booked for 2023 = 14
Mr. Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 03:20 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 3,175
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmulvey View Post
Lights, A/C, Heating system and most likely your refrigerator are 12 volt. I'd initally check your CGI recepticle to see if it's tripped. Try resetting. You'r unit should have at least one if not two. Quite often located in the bathroom and outside.

If still no go, I'm sure others will have recommendations.
For future reference, I believe what you referred to is called a GFCI outlet (not CGI), which stands for Ground Fault Circuit Interrupter.

The air conditioner requires 120 volts AC to operate.
__________________
2020 Sunseeker 2440DS on 2019 Ford E-450, Trekker cap, Topaz paint
BehindBars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 04:03 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Payson, AZ
Posts: 3,676
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
OK, it's a Georgetown motorhome/50Amp service/onboard gen/ATS. Everything is in the RV.
first thing i would do is check the breakers on the generator!

do you have 2 a/c's? if so, do both of them work?
does the microwave work?
tv is probably 120 volts. does it work?

trying to determine if the generator is outputting power on both electrical legs.
__________________
2015 cardinal model 3825fl
2015 dodge ram 3500 dually
CHICKDOE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 04:20 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 68
Agree with Chickdoe! Best thing to do is check the output on the generator first. If you don't have a voltmeter you can pick one up on amazon for around 10 dollars. I think this is an item that should be in everyone's "RV toolbox". I've had to get mine out plenty of times at campgrounds to help someone out.
phil435 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 06:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
cmulvey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Copperas Cove, TX
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Then why would they work on shore power?

Long shot since you didn't say both A/C's work.... Check that one CB on the generator is not tripped.
Good point. I missed that on initial post.
__________________
Christian M
2021 Forest River Forester 3011DS
cmulvey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2023, 11:40 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: TEXAS
Posts: 7,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by PvilleSteve View Post
Lights, A\C / heating system, and refrigerator are all working fine. No power on any receptacle (bedroom, bathroom, or kitchen).

Is this “normal” or do I need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt?

Thanks
Not normal. Everything should operate normally with the generator on...

You probably need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt. Check the GFI reset buttos (usually in the bathroom and kitchen plugs) just in case they tripped when you turned on the generator.... and of course, do the above checks.
__________________
2015 Dynamax REV 24TB class C
Reverse_snowbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2023, 10:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Location: Tarpon Springs FL
Posts: 1,605
ONLY TO BE ATTEMPTED BY SOMEONE THAT CAN USE A MULTI METER ON 120V SAFELY.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
using a multi meter it would take only a few minutes to track down the fault

check voltage out on generator

-------------------------------------------

check Automatic Transfer Switch.
turn ON generator
a) check voltage IN -OUT on the contactors
b) watch /listen if contactor pulling in and not noisy (Hummm)

If contactor PULLS in (you hear a click) then it is getting a signal that generator is connected


NOT pulling in / no click or signal voltage..... the little circuit board on the contactors may be bad.
Replace the board or the WHOLE transfer switch.

If you hear the click and there IS voltage IN... BUT no voltage OUT that contactor needs cleaning OR Replacing...
replacing would be best
cleaning (blow out with air) may be good enough to get you going again for a while...

May not need to replace the WHOLE transfer switch
you could look to buy just the contactor from electrical supply stores (Grainger or similar) they will match one up for you.


IF No voltage INPUT to contactor...
suspect wires from generator look for any bad connection or isolation switches etc

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Main power panel (breaker box)
seeing that everything works on shorepower ... Definitly NOT a fault the main breaker panel ...

the transfer switch ONLY has one set of wires OUT to the main panel.

it sends out power either from generator or pedestal to the main breakers via the same wires

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please note............ the above suggestions are not specific instructions for any particular model RV or Trailer.

Generally these suggestions will work on 90% of them.
__________________
Tarpon Springs FL
2022 Salem 24RLXL
Aussieguy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2023, 02:21 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
doanshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2021
Posts: 554
Quote:
Originally Posted by PvilleSteve View Post
First post. Normally lurk. Will try and be clear with details up front. Hope itís not a repeat but I didnít see a clear answer.
Second owner of 2016 Georgetown 378TS.

Generator is on. No shore power at the moment.

Lights, A\C / heating system, and refrigerator are all working fine. No power on any receptacle (bedroom, bathroom, or kitchen).

All receptacles work fine when connected to shore power.

Is this ďnormalĒ or do I need to go on a breaker/fuse hunt?

Thanks

Did they ever work on Gen to begin with?
doanshop is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric, electrical, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.