Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-21-2019, 04:34 PM   #1

Wink Engine and service question

Hello! I am brand new to the RV world and am trying to learn as much as possible-really appreciate this forum! I recently bought a 2020 Georgetown XL and am curious if anyone else has the same issue as I do. I tow a 2014 Honda CRV and live in my RV full time. Since I bought it brand new my check engine light will come one frequently and the codes say over speed condition and engine misfire. Now the first time this happened I was on a flat highway traveling from FL to MD. I took it to a mechanic and they couldn’t find anything wrong with it. I called Ford and they said I was going too fast. They couldn’t tell me how fast was too fast so I decided I wouldn’t go over 75. Well it came on multiple times, almost every time I drive it. It’s been to three different mechanics now and no one can find anything wrong. I did go up and down an extremely steep mountain with 10% grade going up at 10 mph and I did use my gears to downshift coming down. Ford told me I’m not allowed to do that and downshifting caused my light to go off because I’m “driving erratically” and the rpms are too high for too long. So on my recent trip I was in utah and went up a long steady 6% grade at about 25-30 mph and came down using breaks and letting my engine do the work. I assume the engine knows what it’s doing but it it downshifts and stays up in the 4/5 range on its own the entire way down. I’ve never owned an RV so I don’t really know what to expect and I do not understand why my check engine light comes on every time.

The thing I’ve come to suspect is that I’m suspicious that the engine is too small for the rig? I feel like it’s not powerful enough to support a rig that large and tow a car even though it’s supposed to. Anyone else have issues like this?