Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-14-2010, 11:53 AM   #1

Filling Fresh Water tank

As a newbie I was filling my fresh water tank for my first trip today and it started overflowing which obvious told me the tank was full. I shut the water off and it kept overflowing. When it finally stopped I check the gauge in the coach and it said the tank was only 2/3 full. What am I doing wrong or is this supposed to happen? It was on relatively level ground.
Thanks for your help.
RLFarrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:53 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLFarrell View Post
As a newbie I was filling my fresh water tank for my first trip today and it started overflowing which obvious told me the tank was full. I shut the water off and it kept overflowing. When it finally stopped I check the gauge in the coach and it said the tank was only 2/3 full. What am I doing wrong or is this supposed to happen? It was on relatively level ground.
Thanks for your help.
Your not doing anything wrong, just finding out what so many of us have found out. FR does a really poor job of routing the vent hoses on many of their rigs. Since they hang lower than the tank in most cases it creates a siphon. There are several threads here on the subject. The easy fix is to put a garden hose ball valve on the end of the vent tube and close it when you are done filling then open it when you get where you are going, or re run the vent tube if you can. You may have to blow the water back into the tank to stop the siphon once you open the vent valve too. See this thread for a long discussion on the issue.
Nights camped in 2009: 53 | Nights camped in 2010: 55
www.nwjeepn.com
NWJeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 12:55 PM   #3

Thanks I really appreciate the info. I was scared I was doing something wrong. I will try that fix.
Old 05-20-2010, 08:20 AM   #4